Not-so-social Media

Song of the Day: After Ever After by Jon Cozart

Before I start, I just have to say that this guy is really talented. I found him after he did the Disney princesses parody a few months ago and I just found myself watching his other videos. They’re all pretty amazing and I hope he makes another video soon.

Anyway, I read a while back that social media actually perpetuates depression. Makes sense right?

Think about it.

You’re on these websites where people just document their life whether it’s through facebook, tumblr, youtube, twitter or whatever else. That gives you so many opportunities to compare your life to someone else’s, even though you know better.

Or maybe that’s just me but I doubt it.

I don’t have a youtube channel, or tumblr or twitter accounts, but I do have a facebook and I can’t stay on the site for a long period of time. I’m not going to lie. I’ve gotten a little better at it, but it still makes me really dejected to look through my dashboard.

I see an overwhelming portion of my friends list at his or her new job, at a university, in a different country, etc… I know I’ll be going back to a university next year but the fact that I’m not doing a single thing now makes me feel like a complete waste of space. Worst of all, I see tons of photos of people having fun with their friends. I’m saying that’s the worst because that’s the one thing I want but is also one of the many things I lost over the years.

And that is the main reason why I like to stay away from social media and just write about it all in either my journal or… here, I guess. So then I can console myself until I realize that I’ll eventually become a productive member of society.

But this whole comparing myself to other people just sets me up for resentment. If a certain person who is my age or younger has done more than I have? Well, I will obsess about that for a good few weeks, or maybe even a month. And that in turn just makes me resent myself and the other person even more.

I sound like an envious child but I really can’t help it. My brain has been wired for comparisons since I was much younger and it’s going to take a while for me not to do it automatically.

I just try to remember that unrealistic expectations are premeditated resentment.

That is all.

Have a good night… or day or afternoon! It’s almost eleven in the evening here in California, which means I’m going to sleep soon.

Ha, just kidding. My sleeping habits have been so awful.

Talk to me!

