Be the person your dog thinks you are

Song of the Day: That Girl by Justin Timberlake

How you doin’? Happy Wednesday! It’s the hump so the week is halfway done.

Zeus and Riley

I’ve mentioned dozens of times before that my dogs are my best friends. They’re in San Diego at the moment with my brother and his fiancé, who share ownership of the two of them, but they just sent me a fresh batch of pictures and it gave me an excuse to talk about them, or dogs in general, again.

I’m like one of those parents who just had a child and document every aspect of the child’s life.

“Oh my god, yesterday my dog did this thing where – here, I’ll show you the video…”

Yeah, I’m that obnoxious person. But I’ve gotten better at it.

I’m not the most emotional person but I do have incredibly strong affections for animals. Nothing ruins my day quicker than witnessing some kind of cruelty to… well, anyone really, but dogs especially.

If in the future I decide not to pursue my original plans, or I somehow retire early, I want to buy a really large ranch where I can keep my adopted rescue dogs. That is, if I have enough money for it. Instead of being a cat lady I’ll be a dog lady. But I won’t be one of those hoarders… That’s counterproductive to what I want to do.

Rottie eyebrows always make me laugh

Seriously! How can you resist the puppy dog eyes? But, of course, dogs take a lot of emotional and financial commitment. Don’t ever ever ever just adopt a dog, or any kind of pet, because you think he or she is cute. 

Don’t do it! Dogs are for life not just for Christmas.

A lot of dogs end up in shelters because the owner didn’t realize the amount of commitment a dog needs. I mean a dog is like a child… except for the fact that you could leave it alone in the house without the possibility of social services intervening.

Okay I should probably stop watching animal planet and the discovery channel. I just obsess over trying to save all the dogs in the world and I get angry because I can’t even though I know it’s obviously impossible.

I’m like this because a few years ago after I fell into a pretty deep depression, I began volunteering for an animal rescue, more specifically the Coastal German Shepherd Rescue. It was the first time I had ever seen the conditions of an animal after severe cruelty. Since then, I’ve been really interested in helping out.

Owning any kind of pet where you develop a strong emotional connection to just… changes you. You become more responsible and less selfish. At least, that’s what happened to me. I traded in spending hundreds of dollars on make-up and clothes to keeping my dog healthy. He gave a person who suffers from depression and an eating disorder reasons to get up in the morning and eat. That was everything to me.

Anyway, I’m done talking about dogs… for the time being. I can talk about dogs for hours since I have spent a good portion of my life learning about the different breeds and such.

Plus I’m that creepy person who goes to the dog park without a dog.

I’m just kidding. I don’t do that. Why would I go without my own dogs? Besides, I like using Zeus and Riley as excuses to talk to people… A bit sad but so true.

I need to think of Halloween costumes for them too!

Do you have a dog? Or even a pet? I have conventional pets but I know some people out there have some pretty exotic ones like ferrets or rats. I’m terrified of rats so there can’t be any rodents or anything rodent-like under the same roof. I would never sleep.

“If a dog will not come to you after having looked you in the face, you should go home and examine your conscience.” – Woodrow Wilson

One thought on “Be the person your dog thinks you are

Talk to me!

