When Nothing Else Makes Sense

Song of the Day: Iris by The Goo Goo Dolls

Ever since I was seven music has been my only escape.

That’s actually when I began playing the piano and became interested in all the different genres of music. I started listening to some of the old stuff. You know, like Duke Ellington and Bing Crosby. I actually think that the twenties are as far back as I ever went. From there I moved to the next decade and so on.

My favorite decade may just be the seventies. You’ve got Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, Black Sabbath, Eric Clapton, Jackson 5, Queen… Trust me, I could keep going. Next would have to be the nineties. I really love the sounds of alternative rock back then. But don’t get me wrong, I actually been enjoying the mainstream stuff from my generation.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that music is an important part of my life.

There were a lot of times in my life when nothing made any sense to me. I didn’t understand why I felt the way I did. I didn’t understand why everyone was so concerned about me. I didn’t understand why I couldn’t focus, why I was always so anxious, why I had to deal with the madness, why it kept coming back, why, why, why.

Did you know that I lost all hope and stopped playing the piano for about three years? Yeah, I just didn’t think it was worth it anymore. I actually only got back into it a few months ago. It was the time that I finally realized something.

The only things that always made sense were the lyrics to a song, the notes on the page.

Music became important to me in a different light.

A single line from a song evokes so much thought and emotion. Do you ever just replay a certain part over and over just because it’s just such an amazing line? I do that all the time. And when you actually play the song with your own hands? Oh, it’s even better.

When I play the piano I’m only focused on that one thing, that one song I want to learn. It’s similar to staring at the ceiling while I’m listening to music in the dark. I know it seems like my mind would drift but it’s actually just focused on every word of every song on the album. Seriously, try it out. Or you could stare out a window. I prefer the ceiling because I can lie down on my bed.

So get your headphones and drown out the rest of the world.

Sometimes, it’s the only thing you can do.

Talk to me!

