Weekend at Berkeley

Song of the Day: I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing by Aerosmith

Helloooo.

I just returned from a trip to Berkeley last night and it was amazing. My friends from San Diego picked me up here in Lancaster and we all took a drive to Berkeley to visit my friend who goes to the university there.

Let me summarize my weekend for you.

Creepy car rides. Three AM chicken and waffles. No sleep. Free meals. Tailgate party. Starlight Café. Waffles with fruit and ice cream. Crepes. Attractive superhero debate. Thor 2. Gal pals. Bongo Burger. Waffle cone frozen yogurt. Choking on food. Immature conversations. Riding in the trunk. Costco samples. Comics. Green Lantern. Driving in the wrong direction. Belting out to Disney and Aerosmith. Elephant bar. Lamb, sweet potato, and pasta. Cornology. Ugly Christmas sweaters. Donuts. La Note. French toast and omelets. Almost driving in the wrong direction. Egg puffs. Chipotle.

That is my entire weekend.

I’m gonna be honest. There were times when I felt incredibly exhausted and depressed. I have no idea why. Maybe it’s because it’s been a long while since I had actual social interaction. There were some times when I was surrounded by so many people that I almost had an anxiety attack. I tried my best to keep calm but I was shaking.

When I was at the tailgating party, I actually felt a little uncomfortable. It wasn’t the people who were there because they were all fairly welcoming and nice but personal questions give me a lot of anxiety. Even the whole ‘where do you go to school?’ question freaks me out. I still feel slightly ashamed that I haven’t been in university for about nine months.

Don’t get me wrong. I had a lot of fun most of the time. I’m just uncomfortable being thrown into a situation where I have to interact with new people… Wow, maybe that’s why I literally have no friends here in Lancaster.

All in all I enjoyed the trip. It was nice to get out of the house and see my friends, be my complete and total self, goof around, and just have some fun. It’s a nice way to forget about everything.

I know it may not seem like it but I’m actually really… self-assured when I’m around people that I’ve known for a while. I participate in shallow conversations, have absolutely no filter, and couldn’t care less about what other people think of me.

Strange, right?

Anyway, I hope you had as great of a weekend as I did!

Talk to me!

