Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Song of the Day: Baby, It’s Cold Outside by Bing Crosby and Doris Day

I meant to do the twenty-five days of blogmas but completely forgot that December started on Sunday! I’ve actually been in a Christmassy mood since even before Thanksgiving. So I’m gonna name every single blog from here until Christmas Day the title of a Christmas song that like. Hopefully I can find something to talk about that relates to the song.

Anyway, my house is incredibly festive right now and so is my room. There are lights and candles everywhere. I’m also afraid of the dark so they double as a nightlight…

It actually is getting really cold outside. At night the temperature drops to the 20sF and I’m from San Diego so that’s freezing for me. There was a time a few years ago when it actually was too cold outside for me to go home. Well, it was cold and rainy and I’m not the best driver in the world, or even the city. I’m also not the worst.

Have you all been getting into the Christmas spirit? I’ve got my movies, my hot cocoa, my sweaters, and my fuzzy blanket so I’m all ready for it. This was my problem when was in Berkeley. My freshman year I couldn’t stop listening to Christmas songs while I studied. And then my sophomore year, instead of studying for my Discrete Math final I went to San Francisco with some of my housemates. It was just so beautiful there.

Winter is my favorite season, and not just because I have really cute winter clothes. The atmosphere is just wonderful, especially when it gets closer to Christmas. I just love all the parades and the lights and the festivities. In San Diego we have December Nights in Balboa Park and I’ve never had a chance to go because I was always in school. But I’m in a small town this year and I’m sure there are a lot of events going on. For example, I’m having breakfast with Santa… whatever that is. Well, I’m guessing it’s literally breakfast with Santa. I’m sure my younger sisters will enjoy it.

So my winter essentials?

  • Hot cocoa and marshmallows
  • Tea (I like Irish/English Breakfast, Jasmine, and Oolong)
  • Joggers, pajama pants, sweatpants
  • Ugly/cheesy sweaters (ones with lights!!)
  • Fleece blanket
  • Fuzzy socks
  • Christmas movies (Muppet’s Christmas Carol, Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmas, etc…)
  • Scented candles
  • Video games (because I love my obsession)
  • Bath bombs from Lush (their holiday stuff is in!)
Talk to me!

