My 2013 Favorites

Since it’s the end of 2013, I thought I would share some of my media-related favorites this year. This may be a little difficult for me because I have to think back all the way to January, which feels like it was eons ago. But I’ll try for the sake of wanting to write this little blurb.

Music: I mostly listen to bands/singers from the 60’s – 00’s so obviously most of my favorite bands won’t come out with any new albums; mostly because most of my favorite bands/singers are either retired or dead, such as Michael Jackson, Jimi Hendrix, and Led Zeppelin. But I always try to expand my music library and so I tend to go on 8tracks and listen to some user-made playlists.

To be quite honest, I am one of those people who like mainstream music, but usually after they stop playing the songs on the radio because it does get ridiculously annoying. I guess some of the main people I listened to this year were Ed Sheeran, Justin Timberlake, Bruno Mars, Katy Perry, One Direction (don’t judge me), Taylor Swift, Marina and the Diamonds, 5SOS, and Jason Derulo.

My favorite song this year is probably Sleeping Sickness by City and Colour. Okay, fine; I’ll choose one from this year. It has to be between Heartbreak Girl by 5SOS and Mirrors by Justin Timberlake, but mostly the latter.

As for my favorite album, it’s probably The 20/20 Experience by Justin Timberlake.

Movies: I watched a ton of movies this year, though most of them came out before 2013. I don’t go out to the cinema much because they’re expensive so I rarely watch outside. I think I can actually name all of the movies I watched in the theaters: Iron Man 3, Pacific Rim, Thor: The Dark World, the Great Gatsby, The Conjuring, Fruitvale Station, the Butler, Monsters’ University, and I’m pretty sure that’s all.

I actually liked all of those movies, not in that particular order, but my favorites are definitely Fruitvale Station and Thor: the Dark World. Fruitvale Station was really interesting despite the fact that it took place in one day and the audience knew how it was going to end. Spoiler: I cried a lot at the end (and I never cry in movies). The latter movie was so great; it was funny and engaging and I just loved every moment of it. Surprisingly it didn’t start off slowly like most Marvel movies do. Did everyone love that Captain America cameo? I sure did.

Television: Hands down – American Horror Story: Coven. I was quite disappointed by a lot of my returning shows such as The Walking Dead, The Big Bang Theory, and How I Met Your Mother. I haven’t even been keeping up with them but with AHS, I’ve been watching it every single week. I’m so mad that I have to wait until the eighth to watch the newest episode!

I actually watched the first season of AHS this year too and I loved it. I love the girl who played Violet/Zoe, Taissa Farmiga. I didn’t watch the second season because she wasn’t in that one. I don’t know; I just think she was casted perfectly. That reminds me… her sister Vera Farmiga actually stars in Bates Motel, which I love as well. I like those… darkly themed shows. They’re great. Go watch them. They have my stamp of approval, which is probably useless because what the hell do I know about ‘good’ shows?

I truly do recommend the movies and shows that I was quite fond of this year. There are some (supposedly) really good ones that I haven’t had the chance to see yet including Despicable Me 2, 12 Years a Slave, Breaking Bad, and all those hyped up movies and shows. As for my music choices, don’t trust me. I basically listen to everything besides country and dubstep. My taste in music is all over the place. Trust me; I have Tchaikovsky, One Direction, and Metallica in my music library. But, diversity is always good, right?

Good night! I hope some of you liked some of my favorites this year, and I invite you to post your own, which you’ll probably do anyway. I’m gonna stop rambling now. I do that a lot.

Seriously, good night.

Talk to me!

