The Inner Child in All of Us

Yesterday was my sister’s second birthday and my mom decided to throw her a party. Of course that involved a lot of children combined with a playground and bounce house. It was also princess themed so I decided to wear a tiara.

Me and My Sister
She didn’t want to wear a tiara.

My brother and his fiancé, both around my age, both decided to join me and some of the other younger children in the bounce house and it was so much fun. I hadn’t been in once since I was ten or eleven so I had a blast. I woke up the moment the men set it up in our backyard around ten AM and just ran inside in my pajamas despite the fact that it was 20 degrees (fahrenheit by the way). I had been mostly… sullen this week but the party really lightened up my mood.

Now that it’s all over I can’t help but think about how everyone, no matter how old they are, has this inner child in them. You can’t deny it. Your seven-year-old self is still inside of you somewhere; you may have just forgotten about him or her. I do sometimes.

It’s important to cultivate your inner child. I don’t know about you but she reminds me that every once in a while I need to purge myself of all of the worries and thought that constantly vacate my mind and just… let go of it. Trust me; my mind constantly works in fast forward so the days that I’m free from that is a complete relief.

My inner child is actually quite present in me. I have moments when I know I have to handle matters in a mature way and I tend to get overly serious about things. But there are those moments where I just let loose and do what I wanna do and say what I wanna say. However, it does take a while for my inner child to manifest in front of people I just met.

But when it does manifest I:

  • talk about the most inappropriate of things
  • spend hours playing video games
  • rage during video games
  • watch Disney movies nonstop for hours or days
  • listen to old songs (I actually do that anyway)
  • jump on my bed
  • laugh at children shows
  • play make-believe, hide-and-seek in the dark, etc
  • have nerf/water gun fights

And, of course, I do these things with the people who allow their inner child to manifest as well.

Do you allow yours to every once in a while?

If not, go to the park someday and just play on the swings; or make sandcastles at the beach; or go visit a relative who has a child and spend a day with them. There are so many things you could do.

It’ll be worth it, especially if you have high anxiety like I do.

Talk to me!

