Hello. My Name Is…

Song of the Day: It’s My Life by Bon Jovi

I just can’t stop writing these days so I’m going to do that Zero to Hero Challenge (http://dailypost.wordpress.com/zero-to-hero/) alongside whatever else I decide to write.

First things first my name is Deirdre. I’m twenty-years-old and I’m from the beautiful city of San Diego.

Okay enough with that cookie cutter stuff.

When I was fifteen I was diagnosed with anorexia nervosa and just last year I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and bulimia. If you saw my behavior through much of 2012, you could conclude that I didn’t take the news very well. After feeling completely ostracized from society, I began to write and write and write. You should see my personal journal. One day, I shared my journal with my therapist and she recommended that I share my thoughts with others.

And so sometime in July, I began this blog and I slowly began to realize that there are so many others who are struggling with their own demons. I don’t know anyone personally who struggles with a mental illness so it’s nice to have so many others relate. I figured that if I could help the people in my group therapy, I can help others as well.

Despite everything, I keep fighting and find ways to laugh at and enjoy the little things. If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I always try to lighten up dark moods.

But this blog isn’t just about my illness; it’s about my life, my interests, my dreams, my aspirations, and so on. Believe it or not I actually have a fairly goofy personality. I mean I sit in my pajamas for days playing video games, or stay up for 72 hours straight to finish a new season, or goof off in playgrounds. My favorite thing to do is laugh. And my humor is pretty much all over the place; sometimes it’s dark, sometimes slapstick, and sometimes dry. Actually, it’s mostly dry… like my bank account.

Some people say I’m quite intimidating and I have no idea why! I’m nice. I swear. My humor may just be a little too dry for people…

Well, that’s me. Who are you?

3 thoughts on “Hello. My Name Is…

  1. Wish you a enjoyable 2014 this year, Hopefully it will be good. When yo get to be my age, 63, suddenly you wonder where did all the time go…
    I am an artist in the journey of life. Making every minute and second count. Learning and working on my artwork, and enjoying the Way.

    1. Thank you! I hope you have a lovely 2014 as well.

      I think a lot of people need to have that “making every minute and second count” mindset. I’m sure working on it!

Talk to me!

