The Subjectivity of Adjectives

Song of the Day: Oh No! by Marina and the Diamonds

One of the most important lessons that I learned in 2013 was the subjectivity of adjectives. I know it sounds really obvious but I never really stopped to think about it before.

I mean… the media makes it seem like there’s only one definition of beautiful, funny, smart, successful and etc. I guess everyone’s pretty much aware of that.

What really is beautiful? What’s handsome? What’s healthy? And so on. There really isn’t one definition for any of them and yet it seems like we act like there is. Even the actual definition of adjectives such as “beautiful” is ambiguous and leaves a lot of room for individual interpretation. According to the dictionary beautiful means “having qualities that give great pleasure or satisfaction to see, hear, think about, and etc.” That could really mean anything.

We’ve grown up in a society that imbues a single, ostensible definition for such adjectives, beauty especially. I developed an eating disorder in a subconscious attempt to be accepted by this same society because of the poison I was fed at an early age. I don’t want anyone to feel like they need to twist themselves to fit the mold that society has created.

My perspectives have been warped to believe such things. It’s even difficult for me to accept my own musings about the subjectivity of adjectives because I still believe there’s a single definition for most of them.

I know it’s not too late to change my perspective because deep down – maybe really deep down – I truly believe that these types of descriptions from others don’t really matter. And they really shouldn’t because like I said, everyone has their own definition. I guess I’m sharing all of this in an attempt to prevent others, whether male or female, from having to experience the debilitating effects that accompanies this distorted way of thinking.

The idea seems really obvious and I feel a little foolish for realizing it so late but I guess that’s just how distorted my mind has been.

It’s going to be a difficult task to get myself to believe all of this but it’s a work in progress. I do hope you take a little something out of this.

2 thoughts on “The Subjectivity of Adjectives

  1. This blog really hits home for me as well. We are each on a personal journey and develop ways to understand the world – including language itself. It is unfortunate that modern media does not have more universal truth and less easily marketable bs.

    1. Yeah, it is quite unfortunate. I mean you can read books and what not but the media is still the number one influence on most people.

      Thank you for your input!

Talk to me!

