We read to know that we are not alone

Hello! How has your Monday been so far? I know it’s not the most favorable day of the week because, well, it’s Monday and that means you actually have to do some work… Unless you don’t have class, work, or a social life (like me).

Instead I read and write… and aimlessly browse the Internet but I won’t talk about that today.

I recently finished rereading the Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison. It’s one of those books that I was forced to read during high school but I actually liked it (unlike the Scarlet Letter). Now that I’m finished with my mini library of literature, I was wondering what other books I could read.

Books are my escape, and I’m sure they’re yours too. Even if you’re not an avid reader, there’s that one book or story that you could read over and over again. I actually have a few.

Anyway, I’m going to Barnes and Noble sometime next week so if you have some recommendations please share them with me! I need to start a new book before I go mad.

Here are are few of my favorites:

  • Lancelot by Walker Percy
  • Master of the Game by Sidney Sheldon
  • Battle Royale by Koushun Takami
  • Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Grand Design by Stephen Hawking
  • Sociopath Next Door by Marta Stout
  • Madness by Marya Hornbacher
  • Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

Of course, there are a lot more and as you can see I don’t really stick to a certain genre, though I do like the darker themed novels.

 

4 thoughts on “We read to know that we are not alone

  1. I’ve just read After Dark by Haruki Murakami. It’s like a short story, but it has active imagery. You could check it out or his other books if you haven’t already! I’m planning to read more of his works.

    1. Oh yeah! I’ll check it out. I think he also wrote “Kafka on the Shore” and I’ve always wanted to read that one.

  2. Hiya Deirdre!

    “Unless you don’t have class, work, or a social life (like me).” Snap! Except I do have some studying to do, but I’m in front anyway so all is good on that front! Monday’s just another day for me but yesterday’s Monday was a little crap, basically because I had to go to the docs again to get more antibiotics for a viral throat I have!

    Hmmm books! Most of the books I read are educational, I’m not a fan of reading stories.

    I’m not sure if your religious or not, but even if you are, having a read of Sam Harris’s ‘The End of Faith’ wont hurt you. It’s good to look at the other side of an argument, which is why I’ve read most of the Bible and some of the Qur’an, even though I’m not a believer.

    Just a thought, but have you thought about some self-help books for your health problems? I have one for social anxiety, let me find it for you!

    ‘Overcoming Social Anxiety and Shyness’ – Gillian Butler.

    They also do a book in this collection called:

    ‘Overcoming Bulimia Nervosa and Binge Eating’ – Peter J. Cooper.

    Anyway, I hope you find the suggestions helpful! 🙂

    – Phil

    1. haha yeah. Even though I’m not in school I still like to keep my brain active, which is why I read so much.

      I’m actually not a believe either, despite being forced to go to Catholic school for a few years, but I do like reading religious books too. It’s always nice to have information on both sides of the argument, especially when I get into some kind of debate about it.

      I don’t think I’ve read a self-help book yet. I mean I do read biographies of people who have gone through some similar things.

      Thank you for all the suggestions! I’ll write them down on my book list and check them out when I go.

      – Deirdre

Talk to me!

