Meeting Your Past

If you had the chance to meet the younger version of yourself what would you say to him/her?

In August 2013, I met a girl who reminded me so much of myself when I was her age. She’s my foster sister but after all this time I’ve spent with her, I consider her one of my actual sisters. 

We experienced different types of disappointment, but a similar kind of pain if that makes any sense. I opened up to her about some of my experiences when I was in high school – alienation, depression, anger, resentment, shame, guilt, broken, damaged, and everything else a sixteen-year-old shouldn’t have to feel.

When you meet someone who has shared your experiences in some way, all you want to do is try to help them in anyway possible because you don’t want them to make the same mistakes you did at the time. I expressed myself in unhealthy ways such as starvation, self-harm, isolation, and so on. The last thing I want is for her to feel like she has to resort to those sorts of things.

I want her to know that if she goes down that road, it’ll be difficult to turn back around and cause so much more unnecessary pain.

I want her to know that if she’s feeling a little down, she can always find someone to talk to… and listen to what I like to call my “euphoric anthem” aka my happy song.

One thought on “Meeting Your Past

Talk to me!

