The Shy, Unpleasant Girl

Response to Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute

I can remember clearly in high school that I had a reputation as ‘that one quiet Asian girl.’ There weren’t a lot of Asians in my school. I was the one no one really spoke to but everyone wanted to partner with for an assignment.

To tell you the truth, I was pretty quiet back then. I didn’t speak much but when I did it was the brutal truth. That was probably why everyone thought I was a bit unpleasant. Plus no one really understood my mental illness and thought I was just completely off the rails sometimes, especially since half the time I was depressed and the other half I was angry and impulsive.

These days, I still have that reputation for being blunt. Everyone still thinks I’m shy, which is false. I’m just an introvert. Yes, there is a difference. In my university dorms, everyone on my floor was quite surprised how truthful I actually was. I wasn’t well liked because of that. It’s really understandable. Hardly anyone can handle the truth.

I used to care so much about what everyone thought about me, which is the reason why I kept my mental illness to myself. Some hear “bipolar” and they immediately think “insane”. Nowadays I couldn’t care less. I do a little but I’ve been evolving more and more into my own person, one that I’m really comfortable with.

So I guess whatever reputation I have, or will eventually have, shouldn’t really matter too much to me. Of course, others’ words will still affect me but I’ve gotten better at just… ignoring them. Every once in a while you’ll get a negative reputation, and sometimes you can’t really do anything about it. Take a deep breath and push through. You can do it.

Oh how corny I sound right now.

13 thoughts on “The Shy, Unpleasant Girl

  1. I don’t think it’s a negative reputation since you consider yourself to be introvert and you know you are truthful and you also know that people don’t like hearing truth that much. So, it’s more of true reputation that you have, what you think of yourself, people also think the same. Isn’t it?

    1. I guess I kind of misworded the last portion. haha. I meant that there will possibly be a time in the future that I/others may get a negative reputation, not that I think of my current reputation as negative. Well, only a little because it comes off as rude to some people. That was my mistake.

      Thanks for your comment and have a nice weekend!

      – Deirdre

      1. We shouldn’t be worried about what others think, If you think it’s right and if it makes you happy then nothing else matters and least of all what people think about you because you can never control that 😉 🙂

  2. This was nice to read! I grew up in a city where at the time there wasn’t many Asians. Kinda feel like the outsider but what can you really do… Lol I love how you said you were the one others partnered up with for class work… The way I was I ditched school a lot because I didn’t want to deal with the asian stereo type… But when test time came it was always entertaining watching everyone trying to copy my answers. I really enjoy your writings…

    Truly

    -TuanNgo

    1. haha, yeah, I actually caught someone copying one of my quizzes once. It wasn’t too important so I answered all the questions incorrectly. It just made me so mad all the time.

      And thank you! I enjoy writing.

      – Deirdre

      1. I imagine you taught him a good lesson… Hehe. I was reading one of your other posts the other day and it made me smile. You say when you speak it’s usually blunt. It’s crazy how bad the truth hurts… To me being genuine, real, and true to yourself is life… and it can be hard. But we also have our own world, imaginations, and dreams which gives life personality and yours is very unique… Whether others tell you or not… I notice your good sense for humor also… It’s nice.

        I read this photo quote yesterday that made me think about you… It goes something like… “…hey you…your pretty **** awesome… Keep that **** up!” Haha… Bad words filled those stars but I don’t want to be rude…

        Take care

        -TuanNgo

      2. haha, I wasn’t liked much in my dorms because of that… It’s not like I say it in a rude way either! But yeah, it always seems like when you’re truthful you’re immediately rude.

        And thank you! I think that one of the downfalls of my sense of humor is that some people don’t know whether or not I’m actually joking, especially since most of the time I leave that up to others to decide.

        haha, that’s completely okay. I can be pretty crude sometimes… maybe all the time… maybe too much. But yes, that is an awesome quote.

        Have a lovely week!

        – Deirdre

Talk to me!

