Insensitive Comments

I was on YouTube and news sites recently watching a variety of documentaries/specials and reading articles respectively. They were mostly about people who suffer from some kind of mental illness such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and depression. I just like to look into those kinds of things because I find other people’s lives fascinating.

There was a significant percentage of insensitive, just plain rude comments. I know everyone has their own opinion and I respect that but to say things like people with mental illnesses should be euthanized because they’re a danger to society is horrible. They talked about us like we’re animals. What made me angrier was the fact that other people actually agreed to it and went as far as to direct their comments to the subject of discussion and tell him/her to just kill him/herself. One of them was a seven-year-old girl with psychotic symptoms.

That’s just my definition of wrong and I can’t even express how angry I am about it. I try not to let whatever others say get to me because it’s the Internet and there are always going to be these kinds of people saying such things but I couldn’t in this situation.

There’s so much stigma out there about people with mental illnesses. When someone’s bipolar or schizophrenic, they’re dangerous and insane and should be institutionalized. When someone’s depressed they only feel sorry for themselves and should just suck it up and get over it. When someone’s suffering from an eating disorder, it’s only superficial and doesn’t even count as an illness. I can go on but I’ll only make myself angrier.

Then there’s this idea that mental illnesses aren’t really “illnesses”. But it affects the mind much more than what others think. Sometimes perspective is so distorted the line between fiction and reality is blurred. “Getting over it” isn’t an option, not even in mild cases. Mental illness isn’t a choice.

I didn’t choose to suffer from bipolar disorder and it doesn’t help at all when others, especially who don’t even know me personally, tell me that I’m just plain moody and I’ll get over it someday. I’m so sorry that there’s a chemical imbalance in my brain and is an inconvenience to you is some way.

Not everyone is affected by the negative comments they receive but there are people out there who take it to heart. There’s a huge difference between being truthful about something and just being rude and insensitive. I admit that some of the things I say may offend some people but that’s unintentional. Despite the way I act, I’m actually really sensitive to these kinds of comments and maybe that’s why it affected me so much, and it’s why I try to choose my words carefully.

I don’t know. I’m still quite angry about all the comments, especially ones coming from adults. Don’t you know any better by now?

Hmm… I feel a little better now after that mini rant. Sorry, I’m angry.

2 thoughts on “Insensitive Comments

  1. Hiya Deirdre! :O)

    Either these people were ‘trolling’ to gain a few laughs in their sad lives or they were being serious! No matter which of the two it is they’re still lacking in the brains department!

    A danger to society? Aren’t the people who run our political and economic systems more of a danger to society than people with mental illnesses? I’d argue they are, in fact they’ve pushed many millions to bad mental health and to suicide as well destroying families and communities. Therefore, they should be locked up for the safety of the rest of society.

    Because you can’t see a mental illness it’s not as bad as having say cancer or something? That’s rubbish. I have Ulcerative Colitis (look it up for more details 🙂 ) and I’ve been told the same thing about that as my mental illness because you can’t see it! Goes like this; “Oh? You don’t look too bad! Cheer up, look on the bright side!”. Those people are so infuriating sometimes. We just have to try and educate where we can and just deal with it. And if they still hold the same opinions after you’ve educated them then they’re morons or trolls and aren’t worth bothering with.

    By the way, there’s nothing like a rant to vent the anger! Hope you feel better for it! :O)

    – Phil

    1. Hey Phil!

      Oh gosh, I don’t know who would find those kinds of things funny, except for people just like them I guess.

      I completely agree that the political and economic systems are much more of a danger to society than anything else. I don’t know much about the political systems elsewhere but the one here in the US makes me face-palm sometimes. Our economy is one of the causes of severe depression (and not just the economical kind) since it puts so much stress on the majority of the population who don’t have millions of disposable income.

      Oh I absolutely hate it when people say “you don’t even look bad”. Ugh. And my Psychology class in my university was infuriating. We had gotten to the section about mental illnesses and so many people thought schizophrenia and bipolarity was just hilarious.

      I actually felt so much better. haha.

      – Deirdre

Talk to me!

