Tea Time: Wallflowers and Simple Pleasures

Song of the Day: No Rain by Blind Melon

Go grab your drink.

Got it? Okay.

Since I started classes, I have talked to exactly four people the past two days. One asked me for help in math, another asked me where to get the Music Theory textbook, another asked me if I was serious about playing the piano for fourteen years, and the last one asked me if he could use my desk for a few moments to copy down something my German professor wrote down on the chalkboard behind me. I made zero friends but that’s alright.

I’m a wallflower and I don’t really mind that. I sit, I observe, and I keep to myself. Are you a wallflower? And if so, do you mind being in the background a majority of the time?

I know my parents constantly want me to go out and do “normal young adult things” (whatever that even means), but I would rather sit at home and play the piano for a few hours. I can sit with a friend and watch TV, and I’ll be fine. A friend and I sat in front of his computer for about six hours and I had fun. So I guess that’s why it’s a little difficult for me to make friends. I don’t seem too interesting to many people. Also, I’m traumatized from high school and university. Whenever I started a conversation with someone they would say a word to me and then turn away.

Today, the moment I started the car to go to school “Sweet Dreams” by Eurythmics immediately started playing and that just made my day. Later on when I was going back home, “I Want it That Way” by the Backstreet Boys was playing. So I consider today a pretty good day. I like to enjoy little things like that, such as finding a quarter in your pocket or immediately finding a parking spot or having a stranger sincerely compliment you. You know you love those things too.

Alas, I have gotten down to my last sip of tea; Irish Breakfast this time.

Until next time.

(Image Source: unknown)

2 thoughts on “Tea Time: Wallflowers and Simple Pleasures

  1. I’m more of an introvert. I participate in most of my classes, but I only speak directly to the people I know. I like that because I don’t have tons of friends, but the ones I do have are amazing, wonderful, caring people.

Talk to me!

