Disconnect, Unplug

Have you ever heard of the studies involving depression that arises from social media sites? It makes sense. My mood tends to fall a little whenever I see my friends’ notable achievements or seemingly wonderful life. Then I become so preoccupied with what I don’t have that I forget what I do have. I’m happy for anyone who achieves anything at all but I end up unintentionally comparing my own life to theirs. I’m going to deflect the blame to human nature. 

Lately I’ve been spending time, too much of it might I add, on social media sites. I recently began using Facebook and Skype again, and I opened up an Instagram account. Why? I don’t know, curiosity?

As you know, social media sites can be quite addicting and so I’ve fallen victim to them once again. I don’t update much on what I do but I do like to “stalk” the accounts of my friends, most of whom I don’t speak to as much as I would like. I’ve known most of these people since I was twelve and I constantly wonder what they’re up to. I get nostalgic about the way everything used to be, and then end up crying about it.

It’s the same pattern over and over again.

There was a period of time when I deleted my tumblr, instagram, and facebook; and stopped using skype entirely. I would speak to a few of my close friends from time to time but I was basically isolated from everyone and… I actually felt a lot better. It was like completely disconnected from my past and let it all go. There was a sense of relief that overcame me and I was actually happy.

I’m one of those people who have a copious amount of trouble letting go. I tend to hang on to every little thing, which I know isn’t good, but it’s just how I am. So it was a huge deal for me to let go, even if it was just for a few months.

want to feel that relief again. And in that effort, I promised myself that I would slowly wean myself away from social media sites, especially facebook. I won’t give it up completely, as I still want to keep in touch with some people; I’ll just limit my time.

I’m starting off with limiting my time to just one hour a day. I’ve been using StayFocusd since my university days and it works well. To change the setting I’m forced to type word for word the lyrics to “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction. Hey, I did it like three years ago.

And so, I’m going to disconnect for a little while.

Auf Wiedersehen.

4 thoughts on “Disconnect, Unplug

  1. You write such an honest blog. I can understand and feel what you are telling me. I’m so glad to see you on my blog, 61 Musings. We need another introvert in the club. Virtual hugs for you.

  2. I enjoyed reading this. I’ve had to step away from Facebook a time or two and it’s really helped me out when I have.

    1. Exactly! I’ve deactivated it at least five times in the past three years and it was great, but like I said the trade-off is not being able to keep up with my friends since everything seems to be done over Facebook.

      – Deirdre

  3. I’m In a tough spot because I live in a remote location. It isn’t as though the people in my life can just find me down the street at the cafe or run into me at the market. Nobody calls anymore. Truthfully, I imagine the reality is a mixture of laziness and apathy. People are more self interested and less likely to engage in social activities unless it has a large and prestigious immediate payoff. It means more to post pictures of yourself at an exclusive club in the VIP lounge than it does to say that you spent the afternoon with a guy nobody knows in your backyard. People are self promoting shitbags. Myself included. I have been going out of my way to NOT promote my blog, I see the popularity of other blogs and a small part of me thinks “There! See! You could do that too!!! Your writing is more than good enough!!!” In reality I am actually honestly just doing it for me and I genuinely don’t care, but that urge is still back there in my mind. We are hard-wired for it. Facebook allows us to broadcast our lives in the self promoting shitbag way that we are hard-wired to. So I came up with the habit of posting only original content that was not boasty, like brainfarts that were thoughtworthy but inconsequential. Here is an example: “So yeah, you think that hipsters are pretentious and douchey, but these are just educated and informed adults in training. Yeah they are obnoxious and defensive but the alternative is a future of people raised on Hannah Montana who haven’t read any books and don’t know what a record is. At least hipsters understand analog sound and slr photography. They know that Muse was inspired by Rachmaninoff. The others are balking science and trying to get prayer into schools. So, go easy on hipsters, they will age. They are in a larval stage.”

    Let people guess about my life, I can keep tabs on them. Let them come to me. If they don’t, who cares?

Talk to me!

