Time Does Not Necessarily Heal All

“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.”

– Rose Kennedy

I used to believe that time heals all wounds as well; that if I waited long enough I would just somehow forget about everything that had caused me some sort of grief and pain. As I got older, I realized that was never the case.

The wounds of my past are deep. They’ve never completely healed but rather, left noticeable scars. It’s the main reason I can’t look at anyone directly in the eyes. I’m still terrified of being vulnerable, as you may have read.

Time, however, does make everything a little easier.

When I was just three years old I lost my younger sister. She had been alive for two days. Although it happened almost seventeen years ago, I haven’t completely gotten over it. My family and I still celebrate her birthday every year; she’ll be eighteen in March. But over time, the pain has become more tolerable. There are times that I actually do forget about the whole thing, but in the long run I sincerely doubt I’ll ever get over the loss.

But that’s alright. As a human, there are a lot of things I could never forget. I like to call these particular wounds “battle scars”. Some are physical, most are emotional. Nonetheless they’re there, constantly reminding me of the lessons I’ve learned.

2 thoughts on “Time Does Not Necessarily Heal All

  1. It’s not fair that anyone should feel like they have to heel completely from the wounds of the past. If we forgot about the ones we loved, the pains we’ve felt and the loss we’ve lived through would we be the same people? I don’t think so. You’re right, we should acknowledge the people that have marked us.

Talk to me!

