Tea Time: Comic-Con, Learning German, and Making Friends

Hello there. It’s so great that you could meet with me this lovely afternoon. Yeah I know, it’s a little windy and chilly. So go grab your tea. I’ll wait. Actually, I have coffee today since this coffee shop doesn’t sell tea (I know, right?!), so I guess you’ll have to get coffee too. But I love the ambiance here and they constantly play music from the 60’s, 70’s or 80’s. Here’s a little oldies for you: My Girl by the Temptations. They were playing it while I was waiting for you.

How’ve you been doing lately? I’m… alright. That’s usually my answer. I guess since I’ve been taking my medication regularly I don’t really feel too much of anything. I’m sure that since I’m so used to the extremes, it’s a little difficult for me to distinguish normal levels of emotion. Does that make any sense? I’m sorry. I’m not really the best at explanations.

Oh and guess what. I got a volunteer spot at Comic-Con! I woke up before 9AM today just to register. I haven’t been to Comic-Con since I was fifteen. That year I met the voices of the Powerpuff Girls and got autographs, which was pretty great. I also got a load of free stuff. Have you ever gone? Well, if you’re not really into comics and anime and those kinds of things then you won’t have much fun.

I don’t know if you know this but I’m actually taking a Beginning German class right now. It’s not too bad. I learned a bit of Russian and I find that to be more difficult vocabulary-wise. But my German sounds Russian so my pronunciation is really off. If you speak German or Russian, let’s be the best of friends and converse. I will love you. Well, that’s a pretty strong word. I mean I’ll kinda like you a little more than I do now. If you don’t, I guess we can still be friends.

It’s a little difficult for me to make friends since a large chunk of people my age want to go out, drink, smoke, and party. I’m not judging you if that’s what you do; it’s just none of that is really me. I’m not trying to be a special snowflake or anything because I know there are people my age out there who have similar interests; but I would much rather play video games and board games, and converse for hours over some food or tea. It’s why I constantly invite you to sit and have a warm beverage with me.

I feel like I’ve been droning on and on. Sorry about that.

So what’s new for you? Actually, there’s this documentary about Jeffrey Dahmer that… No, no. I’ll save that for later. You can go on now.

7 thoughts on “Tea Time: Comic-Con, Learning German, and Making Friends

  1. I am so happy for you! You got a volunteer position at comic-con. I would literally kill for that. Maybe. Have fun, I’ll enjoy it vicariously through your picture posts.

  2. That’s so exciting! I’ve always wanted to go to comic-con, but I’ve never been. Perhaps one day I’ll go. Also, that’s awesome that you’re learning German. I took a semester of it last year and loved it. Hopefully I’ll become fluent one day… it’s a beautiful language.

Talk to me!

