My Star Jar

I recently came across my ‘Star Jar’ once again. I don’t think I’ve ever really explained what that is… It’s basically a mason jar filled with paper stars that say things that I like about myself or little pick-me-ups. I used to read them when I felt my mood dropping. I can’t believe I forgot about it!

I opened one up and it said, “You’re so awesome I wish I were you. Oh wait, I am!” Man, I crack myself up sometimes. I think I wrote that three years ago, so it’s nice to know I had that inner confidence back then too.

There’s not very many stars in there, probably more or less ten. But I’m thinking of writing more in there tonight and for a while until I fill it up. There can’t be that few things that I like about myself. From what I remember, the stars contained physical features like my hair to deeper aspects such as my empathy.

Every once in a while I focus on my negative features and my past mistakes and forget the things that make me… well, me. As cheesy as this sounds, I’m a perfectly imperfect person just like everyone else. I am also an extreme perfectionist so it’s a little difficult for me to admit that to myself. It’s getting better.

So never forget about all the things you love about yourself. Eventually I won’t need a little jar for that.

Talk to me!

