Rainy Days

Song of the Day: Echo by Jason Walker

Spending a majority of my life in San Diego, I never had the chance to experience changes in season. Most of Southern California has beautiful sunny weather throughout the year, save that one week that it rains.

Believe it or not, I do get tired of the sun. Don’t get me wrong. I love the days when it’s warm with a slight breeze. I’ll pull the top down on my car and go for a drive somewhere with a friend or even by myself. It’s great!

But I also love the rare cloudy days here in California. It may sound strange but I’m fond of the smell of the cold and the rain. It just smells… refreshing. Rainy, cloudy days are my favorite weather to sit at a coffeeshop and write or read a book. Or maybe I’ll stay in bed and watch reruns of old sitcoms. The Golden Girls is my absolute favorite. I even have a special playlist for rainy days that I like to listen to while I’m driving or writing.

Grey skies may depress some people, and I guess it affects me negatively when I’m already in a downcast mood, but when I’m my usual, calm self it’s just a beauty to look at. There’s just something about staring out into the gloom that makes me think. I tend to reflect on my life during those times; think about my accomplishments, the near future, and so on.

Well, that’s my mini spiel on this rainy, cloudy day.

One thought on “Rainy Days

  1. Rainy days are my personal favourite as well. Nothing smells like freshly fallen rain on a cloudy, cool day. I’m desperately waiting for spring. It’s March and we’re still covered in piles of ice and snow.

Talk to me!

