Tea Time: Questions and Compliments

Hello. Beautiful day, isn’t it? Since it’s quite warm I thought I would order some iced coffee instead. Hazelnut is usually my favorite but it tastes a little strange here in Starbucks so I decided on vanilla instead. Yeah, I’m not too fond of this place either.

I’ve had quite a lot on my mind lately but since the weather was just so beautiful today that I spent a lot time after my German class absorbing some vitamin D. I actually had fun in class today, talking to and laughing with the people who were sitting around me. No one usually likes to speak to me – maybe because I’ve been told I look a little mean when I don’t smile – so it was great.

Isn’t it funny how little things like those kind of just make your day?

One time at a stoplight the person in the car next to me rolled down his windows and gave me a compliment. I think compliments from strangers are just so lovely. Strangers aren’t obligated to pay me any kind of a compliment but when someone goes out of their way to say something to me, it’s a great feeling. Even when someone holds the door open to me, picks up something that I dropped, or just greets me, it makes my day so much better.  Don’t you think so?

I’m actually pretty good at small talk but it’s developing the friendship that I have some problems with. I’m sure you know all about that. It’s just… I feel like it’s a little difficult to be friends with me because of how erratic I can be. A lot of people still believe the negative stigma about eating disorders and bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses. It’s a little daunting to me.

Anyway, what’s been on my mind? Well… I’m not really sure I wanna talk about it. Have you ever had a question you want answered but are too afraid to ask because you may not like the answer?

Really?

That’s good because I thought I was losing it a little. Let’s just say I may have inquired something that I now realize I’m not ready to know the answer to because I don’t know what I want the answer to be. But then again, isn’t it better to know the answer when I don’t have an expectation? Though it could be one of those things where I won’t like either answer… or I’ll realize which answer I wanted after I get the answer that I don’t. Do you know what I’m saying or am I just confusing you?

What an exasperating situation.

Great, now you had me thinking about it again…

Okay, okay. Just forget I said all of that. I’m not going to let that ruin the great day I’ve been having. So, how’ve you been these days?

2 thoughts on “Tea Time: Questions and Compliments

  1. haha, great post. I, too, appreciate it when someone holds a door or picks up something out of my reach, although I am sort of disappointed that it isn’t the norm. It seems like common courtesy to do something as simple as holding a door, but yes, it does make me feel better when it happens.

    1. Yes! Although sometimes when I hold the door for someone, I tend to get stuck holding the door for everyone else. But usually someone else will hold the door in my place, which is great.

Talk to me!

