I’d rather feel pain, than nothing at all…

Someone was singing that earlier this week so I’m guessing it’s a song.

At this very moment while I’m recovering from the extraction of all of my wisdom teeth, I really wish that I felt nothing at all… But this post isn’t about the artificial pain of a broken bone or a cut; it’s about much more excruciating pain than that. And yes, I do believe emotional pain hurts so much more.

So… would you rather feel pain than nothing at all?

As a person who suffers from bipolar disorder, my emotions are volatile and extreme so most of the time the ‘feeling nothing at all’ choice seems a lot more appealing. Even when my illness is regulated, the possibility of my emotions getting out of hand still frightens me to a point where I would much rather feel “nothing”.

There’s a line from one of my favorite songs by the Goo Goo Dolls that goes “when everything feels like the movies, you bleed just to know you’re alive.” So in short, pain makes us living, breathing humans. Yet, some of us don’t like that characteristic of a human being and would much rather be an emotionless robot.

Though, being a robot does sound pretty amazing, doesn’t it? I mean infinite memory, vast intelligence… I’m thinking of C-3PO from Star Wars or Data from Star Trek. I do think the latter installs an emotion chip later on in the Next Generation but that’s not the point.

Even though emotions can be unwarranted (most of the time), it probably would be a lot better if we all had them. I’m sure you don’t even need to imagine what the world would be like if it were run completely by robots. There’s enough movies out there for that (though not enough good movies).

Besides, if we gave up feeling pain then we’d have to give up feeling happiness, love, amusement, empathy, and so on. We can all live without pain, hurt, and anger but what about all the positive emotions we experience?

I guess that wouldn’t really matter if we were robots. We wouldn’t even know what we’d be missing…

One thought on “I’d rather feel pain, than nothing at all…

Talk to me!

