2014 Anticipations: Travel Edition

Happy April! It’s almost the middle of the year… well, we’ve finished a little more than a quarter of the year so I’m just rounding up.

Anyway, the first quarter of my 2014 has been quite lackluster but life has got some exciting things in store for me during the next several months. Since I’ve been completely miserable (mostly because of the stupid wisdom teeth extraction) I thought I would lift my spirits by writing about my future adventures, if you can call them that.

My first destination, sometime in May or June, will be New York City! Yes, the New York City, the Big Apple, the City of Lights, the… whatever else you call it. I’ve never been to NYC and I feel like it’s one of those cities everyone should visit at least once in their life. It’s also one of those cities that look amazing on film and just builds up your expectation, so I’m not going to expect to absolutely love it. I mean I absolutely love San Diego, most of the time, and that’s a big city too but I have no doubts NYC will be completely different. Still, I’ll be a tourist. Mini Empire State Buildings and Statues of Liberty for all of you.

Oh, guess who’s turning twenty-one on July 9th?

If you don’t answer ‘Deirdre’ then you’re terrible at this game. Unless, of course, you know someone else who fits that criteria.

I don’t even really like drinking so I don’t care about finally being of legal drinking age here in the U.S. (yes, you do have to be twenty-one to legally drink here). It would just be any other birthday if I weren’t going to… *drum roll* Disney World! That’s in Orlando, Florida, which is also another city I haven’t been to. I heard it’s humid but I will get to be a child again. I’m gonna do all the cheesy things. You know, get the Mickey Mouse ears, take a photo in front of the castle, meet the characters, and everything.

After returning from the Magic Kingdom, I’ll be going to the San Diego Comic Con. I’ve only ever been there once in 2008 so it’ll be great to go again. This isn’t really much of a travel destination since I spend half my time in San Diego anyway but it’s still an exciting event don’t you think? I wish I had the time and/or money to make myself a costume because I’ve always wanted to go as one of the Sailor Scouts but maybe another year.

Lastly, I’m going to be preparing to study in Edinburgh, Scotland in August. I am both excited and absolutely terrified. I’ll be in a whole new country by myself for years. Well, I’ll probably go back to the States every once in a while to visit my family but I’ll be spending most of my time there.

I’ll be in university again! After being absent for over a year, you can imagine why I’m scared. But for me, that really marks the next chapter in my life. It’s like I get another chance to start over, to pursue my studies the way that I wanted to. It’s the first time that I’m actually… well and I’m looking forward to how things will unfold for me.

And, as always, I’ll be taking photos and writing about… everything.

Until then I’m going to just keep doing what I’m doing now… which is virtually nothing.

Talk to me!

