Lazy Sundays

Song of the Day: Build Me Up Buttercup by The Foundations

Sundays are the designated “oh my gosh I forgot I had to do this by tomorrow” days but I simply call them my lazy days. I stay in my pajamas all day and watch television, maybe surf the Internet. Basically, I will do absolutely nothing productive and not feel guilty about it.

Hey, we all need a break every once in a while, right? For me, they just happen to be on the first day of every week… or last if that’s how you count them.

I don’t understand how some people can just constantly work. I find relaxation to be just as important.

When I was up in Berkeley, my life moved in fast forward because it was always class, study, class, ROTC, study, class, study, and so on. I felt like I had so much to do every single day that I thought if I gave myself a break I would never finish everything in time. But constantly stressing out my brain and keeping myself from proper recovery was almost counterproductive.

There’s a term called “over studying” and what I was doing was basically it.

Not only that but the lack of sleep was just festering my mania.

Then I just… snapped…

So these days, I’ve learned to purge my anxiety every week so that it doesn’t build up inside of me. It was a little difficult at first because relaxing seems so unproductive. But it’s not; trust me. You and your brain will love you for it.

If you missed lazy Sunday this week, don’t you dare forget it next week! Actually, it could be any day you want. Like I said, I just prefer Sundays.

Well, here’s a list of my lazy day essentials:

  • pajama pants (or sit in your underwear; no one will judge you)
  • movies (for your popcorn)
  • popcorn (for your movies)
  • lazy buddy (because it’s easier to rid of anxiety with a friend, or a dog… or a cat… I guess)
  • cheesy 80’s love songs (because you know you love them)
  • a phone (because you’ll be too lazy to cook… or get up to talk to someone else in the house)

As you can see, I can be quite the sloth sometimes so… I’m really not sure how to finish that sentence because it’s still Sunday and my brain is still powered off.

My Sundays keep me from getting the Mondays, so forgive my lack of eloquence.

Anyway, Happy Lazy Sunday!

Talk to me!

