Sticks and Stones

When we were younger we were taught “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.” I think we all know by now that that’s pretty much a complete lie. Words do hurt… quite a lot actually.

Ever since I was in elementary school I’ve been made fun of. Back then it was because I was a foreigner and could hardly speak English, but since high school it’s more because I’m studious and an introvert. Like I mentioned, I’m quite fond of literature.

I never really understood why it seemed so socially unacceptable to seldom spend time with others or actually like studying. In fact, back in high school I got the impression that being “smart” was unacceptable to others as well.I still do actually… especially around people my age. People called me a “nerd” or a “geek” and constantly asked me how my grades stayed so high. I told them it was the magical thing called studying. 

The word “fat” pushed me towards an eating disorder back in middle school. In fact if someone calls me fat or even “healthy”, whether or not they’re joking, it leads this completely irrational reaction in my head. Neither of the terms are even an insult! But it leads me down that spiral downwards once again.

But others use more than just descriptive words to hurt me. They don’t even have to call me a name.

“Get over it” is probably the phrase that I hate hearing the most. Having to juggle these mental health issues it’s like a stab at my heart when someone, especially someone close to me, tells me to “get over it.” And then hearing all the stigma that goes around hurts even more.

But maybe that little saying is true in some way. We’re always going to face these kinds of negativity no matter what we do. That’s just… the way it is, I guess. Maybe it’s trying to say that words shouldn’t hurt us because we can’t control what other people say or think about us. We’re always going to have to deal with some kind of criticism from someone and we have to build a thicker skin and find a way to accept it.

So that’s my little spiel for today. I hope everyone has a great Friday and and even more amazing weekend. I’m going to Universal Studios tomorrow so I’m quite excited!

4 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

  1. Eighty percent of human beings are stupid and unaware. They have no imagination, critical faculty or shred of brightness. Sadly these days more than ever – stupidity is being dressed up as a virtue. Knowing more makes you less ‘cool’ and of the two criteria (Cool and Smart) – cool weighs far more to ‘the eighty’. Accept that you’re in a wonderful minority that transends ethnicity. You’re a real person. Deal with the eight percent when you have to but don’t let them change you.

    All the best,
    H&J

    1. Thank you for your comment!

      Yes, it’s really quite sad that bad behavior seems to be rewarded in our society. I feel like intelligence is completely overlooked.

      Good day!

      – Deirdre

  2. I’m sorry you have suffered. I think the teenage years are the most difficult by far. When I was in my teens, many of us developed eating disorders to varying degrees, & we’ve nearly overcome them. When I look at you, I see a bright, personable and lovely girl with the world at her feet. You should be very proud of yourself. Have fun at universal studios! :0)

    1. I’m definitely glad I’m past high school and technically I’m no longer a teenager but it’s still difficult. I’m sure we all have to deal with those kinds of things all throughout our lives.

      And thank you so much for your compliment! It really means a lot to hear such things from others.

      😀

      All the best,

      Deirdre

Talk to me!

