King Kong and the Minions

2014-05-04 06.28.39
With Shaggy and Scooby!

Hello! How was your weekend? I spent about twelve hours yesterday at Universal Studios Hollywood and I’m pretty exhausted, but I thought I would share with you what we all did. Spoiler alert: it was fun.

First we went on a studio tour, which is exactly what it sounds like. It’s an hour-long tour of various sets and included an amazing 4-D experience of King Kong and Jurassic Park. It was just so realistic. When King Kong got pretty close it smelled like bananas, and it actually felt like we were falling off a cliff. I got “spit on” by one of the velociraptors various times because I decided to sit at the very edge of the tram. It was worth it.

I was really excited when we passed by the Bates Motel! Have you seen Psycho? It’s probably one of my favorite movies of all time. I can’t really say what it’s about without spoiling it, but if you haven’t watched it then you should. We were watching him carrying a body into the trunk of his car and when he noticed we were there, he began chasing us in the “Norman Bates” way with a knife. On another note, you should watch Bates Motel on A&E! It’s great.

Me and Mark? Dave? Phil?
Me and Mark? Dave? Phil?

Then we all went to the Despicable Me: Minion Mayhem. It was a similar 4-D experience and I loved it. I don’t know if you can tell, but I am quite fond of the minions. I even took various pictures of some, with the one to the left being my absolute favorite of the day because I just looked like a tourist. The ride itself was a simulation of us training to be minions but things going haywire in Gru’s Lab. Okay, let me just say that I am terrified of roller coasters because it gives me anxiety just thinking about the possibility of it malfunctioning. I know, I’m quite irrational. Also, I’m afraid of heights and, well… roller coasters go up pretty high.

The Simpsons ride was next. It was pretty fun as well, though I didn’t like it as much as the others mainly because it wasn’t 3-D. However, I did get spit on by Maggie, the baby. It was mostly us riding through Krustyland, if that’s what it’s called. I’m not that heavy so every single time the seats jerked, my whole body would throw me around. I guess that’s what the handrails were for, right?

Before the Minion ride!
Before the Minion ride!

I think the Transformers ride had to be my favorite. It was 4-D as well and we were on this… small vehicle thing and we were supposed to be helping the Autobots defeat Megatron. The pyrotechnics were done quite well. When something exploded, it became extremely warm. I thought I would burn. With these kinds of experiences, like what I said with the King Kong one, it really does make you feel like you’re in their world. It wasn’t a cartoon like the minions ride was so it actually did feel like we were being thrown around all over the city. Man, I love simulations like those.

2014-05-04 06.27.30
Me and my friend, Nicole. We’ve known each other since we were 12.

A Water World show was next and I got completely soaked… because I made everyone sit in the soak zone. Hey, it’s just more fun that way! The story involved two sides fighting in an enclosed “water world” because the antagonists wanted the protagonists to tell them where this wonderful world of “dry land” was. The water stunts were amazing and, ahem, one of the guys was quite attractive.

One of the last things we did was go through the House of Horrors. I’m not going to lie, I was pretty scared… mostly because it was dark and I’m afraid of the dark. I absolutely freaked out when a mummy came out from the side and for the rest of the walk, I hung on to my sister and my friend’s. I just wanted to use them as a sandwich so that I

Me, Nicole, and the Minions. I know the tall one is Kevin!
Me, Nicole, and the Minions. I know the tall one is Kevin!

wouldn’t be on either side. The room of mirrors was chilling because I scared myself. I was actually hoping the the mirrors would turn and someone would come out. I’d be scared but it would be a great scare. I think what terrified me the most was the two werewolves at the very end. My sister was so freaked out that she pushed me back and ran the rest of the way. Now I know what she would do if we were in a scary movie.

We actually spent a lot of time walking around and just goofing off with the characters and taking as many photos as possible. All in all, it was a great time. It’s been a while since I’ve actually gone somewhere and it nice to get out of the house other than going to class. I haven’t been to Universal Studios since I was nine so it was great to see both new and familiar things. If you’re visiting California, I highly recommend going, especially if you like their movies.

I have a lot more photos but they’re all over the place, i.e. they’re all in separate sources and I haven’t had much of a chance to have them transferred. At the same time, I’ll be posting some on my Instagram! One of my favorite photos of the entire day is there. It was when this guy from the Mummy ride stole my phone and took a photo with me. He seemed like a nice person.

Our next stop is New York City in June or July!

 

Talk to me!

