Happiness from Music

Response to Daily Post: Pick Me Up

This may be cheating but a word or phrase doesn’t immediately lift up my mood… A song does!

And that song is Dancing in the Dark by the one and only boss, aka Bruce Springsteen. Whenever I listen to this song, I can’t help but smile and dance. By the way, I’m not a dance in the least and my “dancing” is similar to how Courteney Cox was dancing in the video. Go ahead and listen to the song. You can’t tell me that it doesn’t wanna make you dance around and sing along!

If someone even mentions a line from the song, I’ll break out into song… maybe not dance. It depends where I am. You know those scenes from musicals where the character is so happy that they start singing? It’s like that.

Other songs that make me really happy are You Make My Dreams Come True by Hall and Oats and Somebody’s Baby by Jackson Browne. I invite you to listen to them both along with the first song I mentioned, especially if you’re feeling a little down. I have these songs and more in a playlist that I listen to when I need a pick me up.

Even if the songs didn’t make me want to spend the rest of the day skipping, they never fail to make me sing.

What songs make bring a smile to your face?

6 thoughts on “Happiness from Music

    1. I actually just listened to Hey Brother for the first time the other day! You can tell, I don’t really listen to the radio. haha. I really like the music video.

      I also like the other one! It’s really upbeat.

      Thanks for sharing!

      – Deirdre

  1. “Step Outside” by Jose Gonzales, from The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. That song never fails to bring both a smile to my face and this odd teary-eyed feeling. Makes me want to let go of everything, grab a backpack and explore the world. 🙂

    1. I’ve never watched that movie but I went to YouTube to listen to the song and it sounds great! It does have that “I want to go on an adventure” feeling.

      Thanks for sharing!

      – Deirdre

Talk to me!

