I’m a dreamer

One of the many things I like to learn about others is their aspirations. We all have at least one, right? At least I hope so. But hey, maybe you’re living your dream right now. If so, lucky you then.

Being able to pursue your dreams takes a lot of courage. You can’t be afraid of a little failure because it’s inevitable. Like the cheesy quote says, “it doesn’t matter how many times you fall but how many times you get back up.” I mean, it’s true.

Sometimes I feel like I don’t have that same courage I need, but when I think about everything that I’ve managed to get through the past several years I realized that I have a bit of pluck myself. It takes strength and courage to get through hardships and that’s exactly what I have. However, I have to admit that facing failure is both frustrating and disheartening. There are times when I would allow one failure or one obstacle to compromise my dreams because the fear of failing again is stronger that the fear I had failing the first time. Does that make any kind of sense?

For instance when I dropped out of Berkeley I counted it as a failure, even though it was because of my eating disorder and dropping out of university ist always considered as unsuccessful. So I was terrified of returning to school because now there was that sense of the possible second failure. Does that make a little more sense?

Since I’m returning to university this fall, and to Scotland, you can guess that I’ve managed to push those thoughts out of my head. And that’s just my point. Don’t let the fear of failure keep you from pursuing your dreams… as cheesy as that sounds.

Come on. Seriously, tell me about some of the hopes and dreams you have.

I want to travel around the world and experience different cultures. I want to get the chance to live in Switzerland and South Africa and Vietnam and Japan. I want to become a polyglot. I want to become a writer. I want to become financially independent. I want to get my degree in computer science and work in cybersecurity, maybe for Interpol or the CIA or FBI. I don’t know! The world is in my hands.

 

5 thoughts on “I’m a dreamer

      1. Oh, and I didn’t tell you any of my goals. Hmm.
        Get a literary agent.
        Become a NYT bestselling author.
        Go on a national book tour.
        Have a movie made from a book I’ve written.
        Win an award for a book I’ve written.

        I know they’re kinda crazy, but what the heck, right?

Talk to me!

