A Whole (Imaginary) World

I act pretty mature most of the time but truth be told, I’m still a kid at heart. And I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before. With that said, I have a pretty active imagination, not that you have to be a kid to have one.

I spend a lot of time day-dreaming. I’m actually one of those people who stare into space and imagine myself in a different world. Well, it’s more like a whole different galaxy. I don’t have the longest attention span, as you can see from all the times I digress from my actual topic, so any little thing can trigger my imagination. I mean something as mundane as waiting in line.

Do you do that?

Sometimes I’m a part of a group of secret agents dedicated to saving the world. I had a dream like that one time and it was pretty great. One of my real-life friends was actually in the dream. I was codename Archangel and he was codename Phoenix. There were others such as Snakehead, Iceman, Nightcrawler, and Python. Our mission was to retrieve a computer chip that… did something I don’t remember.

Sometimes I’m a Grammy-award winning musical artist. That makes sense because I’m an amazing singer and piano player. In case you didn’t get the sarcasm, which is understandable, I’m really not. My voice is alright and my piano playing is a bit above average. But then I get disillusioned by Hollywood and go back to school.

Sometimes I’m a pilot for the U.S. Air Force. I was in ROTC for a semester in Berkeley but I got kicked out for my illness so I never finished it. I also never would have been a pilot because I was two inches too short. Way to crush my dreams, America. No, actually I only joined because I was in the middle of a manic episode.

Speaking of which, a large part of the reason why my imagination goes wild is because of my bipolar disorder. Even when I’m not having a manic episode, I still have the symptoms though not as severe. My mind usually races but with my medication it slows down. However it’s not enough to make me feel like a zombie. I have this constant flow of creativity, which is also the reason why I keep this blog. I have to organize my thoughts somewhere, right?

3 thoughts on “A Whole (Imaginary) World

  1. I’m a total day-dreamer and im 45. I think it is a big part of my bipolar disorder but sometimes the detailed daydreams lift my moods. Its neat

Talk to me!

