Nineteen

Response to Daily Post: Powerful Suggestion

This time last year, I was involuntarily in the ICU. It was the second time I’ve been there in two months. That time around I believe it was for overdosing on my medication. I was on the verge of a manic episode and I took a little more than my designated amount of antipsychotics.

That was the time I wanted to give up… again. I wish someone had told me that things would turn around for me fairly soon. About a month later I was blessed with Riley, a two-year-old labrador mix. And I wish someone had advised me sooner to adopt a emotional support dog because the main reason for my progress is that dog pictured above. But of course, I had to make sure my family had the funds to adopt.

The first day I brought Riley home, he jumped on my bed and took a nap. Since then he would sleep with me at night. I watched movies and ate popcorn with him. Yes, I gave him popcorn. He loved it. He would act as a guard dog and an alarm clock, and more importantly a friend.

I tried to bring him everywhere with me: to the mall, the store, the park, and etc. But of course, dogs aren’t welcome many places here. Still, whenever he was with me my anxiety and depression just disappeared. I even found it in me to talk to strangers who asked about him without having a complete anxiety attack. He’s just a dog that everyone seems to love. If you ever meet him, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

So I leave you with this quote that I absolutely love.

A dog has no use for fancy cars or big homes or designer clothes. Status symbol means nothing to him. A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog judges others not by their color or creed or class but by who they are inside. A dog doesn’t care if you are rich or poor, educated or illiterate, clever or dull. Give him your heart and he will give you his. It was really quite simple, and yet we humans, so much wiser and more sophisticated, have always had trouble figuring out what really counts and what does not. As I wrote that farewell column to Marley, I realized it was all right there in front of us, if only we opened our eyes. Sometimes it took a dog with bad breath, worse manners, and pure intentions to help us see.

– John Grogan, Marley and Me

7 thoughts on “Nineteen

  1. I have dealt with medical issues the past five years. I got my dog two years ago. She has helped me immensely with my outlook, attitude, etc.

  2. My 3 year old niece who doesnt even know how to talk yet has a boyfriend.. I’m just like how?? I guess we’re all just looking for someone who understand us

Talk to me!

