The Lion King Makes Me Emotional

Before I start, I would just like to warn you that there are spoilers for several movies in here. Even though they’re rather old, I don’t know if you’ve seen them.

So who has ever, at least once, cried during a movie? You? Yes? That’s okay. I have several times.

Despite what you may think because of what I write in this blog I’m actually not that emotional of a person. Because of my bipolar disorder, I do feel the extremes but when I’m just straddling the center my emotions are at bay… except for my anxiety but that’s a whole different story. What I’m trying to say is that it takes quite a lot for something, especially movies, to make me cry.

With that said, some movies are just too disheartening not to provoke a reaction from me. You know those movies that you can only watch once because it’s just makes you too anxious and emotional. One of those movies just happens to be The Lion King. Yeah, yeah, it’s a Disney movie but if you’ve ever watched that movie, you know which part I’m talking about. I’m not talking about crying a river in this case; I just tear up every single time Simba just goes up to his dad and says something like, “Come on, Dad. Let’s go. Get up.”

Another children’s movie that makes me a little emotional The Land Before Time. It’s a movie about dinosaurs that I loved as a child. In fact I could watch it again right now… but I won’t because it makes me anxious. There’s a part when the dinosaurs are going to the Great Valley but Littlefoot’s mother dies. I watched it again on YouTube because I wanted to provide a link and I’m already tearing. Don’t judge me. Parents passing away always gets me.

The Land Before Time
The Land Before Time

The last children’s movie I’ll mention is The Fox and the Hound. This scene actually makes me cry. I mean, I don’t just tear up; I actually start crying. I’ve only ever watched the movie twice and I can no longer do so because I’m incredibly anxious the entire time. It’s not sad per say, just bittersweet. To me, it’s letting go of someone you love because it’s for the best.

Staying in the animal category… Marley and Me. Even though I knew Marley died in the end, I still cried. I watched it once before I had adopted my dogs and it still got to me. Like I’ve mentioned dozens of times, I have this huge soft spot for dogs. Yes, I’m one of those people who cry whenever a dog dies. Well, not whenever… I’d be crying for the rest of my life.

Then there’s Hachiko. This is the dog movie that has made me the most emotional. It’s about a stray dog found by a man who then cares for him. The dog, Hachiko, always walked his owner to the train station and met him there in the afternoon to walk him home. One day the man didn’t come home, due to a fatal heart attack, and the dog simply waited. I don’t quite remember the exact details, but I believe Hachiko waited for his owner for nine years. It’s based on a true story. Isn’t that just amazing? But it’s heartbreaking all at the same time.

Moving on to actual people. The first I have to mention is Fruitvale Station. That movie is absolutely amazing, from the actors to the small details. It blew my mind and for that reason, it’s on my list of movies that I highly recommend for others to watch. I bawled my eyes out the last twenty minutes. I was in the theaters with my sister, and I heard dozens of others sniffling so I wasn’t the only one. I watched it a second and third time because friends and family members of mine wanted to watch it and it still got to me. I can’t watch that movie anymore.

I actually think those are all the movies that have ever made me cry. There are a lot of movies that are heavy but like I said, I can usually keep my emotions at bay.

So those are my tear-jerker movies. I never realized that most are children’s movies. I guess that’s because those movies are supposed to be lighthearted and innocent. That heavy moment just comes out of nowhere.

What movies always make you cry?

3 thoughts on “The Lion King Makes Me Emotional

  1. WOW I didn’t know people knew about Land Before Time…

    you made me feel so nostalgic reading this LOL!

    The Fox and The Hound is the movie that really makes me emotional, even the land before time scene just not as much!

    I may just dedicate a day to relive these childhood movies again!

    1. hahaha, I love Land Before Time! I watched most of the movies when I was really really young. I don’t remember a lot of it but I definitely remember that part.

      And yes! The Fox and the Hound… I just can’t watch that anymore. It made me and my friends really emotional when we were watching it with our dogs. haha. But it really is a great movie.

Talk to me!

