Because I’m Happy

Who has heard that song way too many times already?

Not me because I don’t listen to the radio. So I actually seldom hear it. It’s just so upbeat and fun! I always have to get up and do my version of a dance. I say my version because I can’t dance… at all.

I’m actually not even as happy as the song, but I’m alright. I might be lacking in the sleep department.

I really like the lyrics to the song especially the lines, “Give me all you’ve got and don’t hold back. Well, I should probably warn you I’ll be just fine.” It’s basically saying that no one has the right to make you unhappy. It so simple but so true at the same time.

I wanted to write about this song because I constantly see others receiving negative comments on their photos, writings, or anything else; and I know that there are a lot of people out there who are sensitive and take these comments personally. Hey, I happen to be one of those people and I’ve been working on it for a while now.

Even worse than comments, are situations that bring you down. One situation I can think of off the top of my head is when I feel left out of something. This is usually because I was either deliberately not invited to the event or I wasn’t able to make it. The latter is usually my fault because of my anxiety. But nonetheless, it makes me a little sad when I can’t be a part of the conversation.

These days, I try my best to accept that these kinds of things are always going to happen. We’re always going to receive negative comments and face situations that make us upset. All that matters is how we react to them.

That’s where the song comes in. It’s easier said than done but don’t let other people or the little things bring you down.

No one and nothing has the right to do that to you.

So if you’re feeling a little down go to the closest mirror, stare at yourself, and make the most ridiculous faces you can. Proceed to laugh at yourself.

 

5 thoughts on “Because I’m Happy

  1. So true! For someone like myself who has always had problems with acceptance and feeling like an outcast, my confidence was at an all-time low and I would constantly feel like people were judging/criticizing me. It got to a point where anything anyone said sounded negative to my ears. I’m learning to deal with that because the fact is that not everybody is going to be nice to me. Learning to not harbour a grudge and just be happy is by far the hardest thing for me to do, but I’m trying. 😀

    1. That’s so great! I know it’s really really difficult to ignore all of the negativity sometimes. I was teased a lot when I was younger, and still today in my opinion, and I still remember everything anyone has ever said to me. But that was a long time ago and like you, I’m trying to accept it. 🙂

  2. I’ve only had one strange comment on my blog, where someone tried to discredit everything I said. I responded politely but I don’t read their blog anymore. I still can’t understand why she did it. If people don’t like what we write, they shouldn’t waste their time reading and commenting and just go away! Ignore those plonkers..I need an emoticon for sticking my tongue out..

    1. I completely agree! There are some people who keep reading blogs they don’t even like just to comment negatively. That’s just so much energy wasted.

      Haha plonkers… Love it.

Talk to me!

