Backyard Barbecue

Happy Memorial Day! Well, it’s tomorrow but the weekend of celebration is upon us. The barbecue outside was just finished so my mom wanted to have a get-together with the rest of my family yesterday.

As you can see from the photo I dressed up quite nicely (I’ve been wanting to wear the dress for weeks!) and I even curled my hair, which I never do. I ended up jumping into the pool anyway because it was about 90F. By the way, that’s typical summer weather here. It was 100F last week so I’m not complaining. I actually don’t know how to swim but I got the hang of it after a while. I still don’t think I could do it in the ocean but a pool is the first step. The heat continued throughout the late afternoon and evening so we all went swimming up until eight or nine. I got a very nice tan, which means I have to get new foundation and that’s a pain.

One of my uncles who came to our house actually lived in Vienna, Austria for about seven years so I was able to converse with him in German! He got a little tipsy and started playing the guitar and singing. It was quite fun.

Do you know the game mahjong? My family always has to play that game. I’ve played a few times but I’m not very good at it; and they play for actual money so I wasn’t going to join at all. Yesterday they played until two in the morning! Now, my family is usually quite… loud, so I was surprised that they were somewhat quieter this time. But I love them despite their craziness. It was definitely great seeing my grandfather again because he was recently in the hospital and we were so worried about him.

After we all ate dinner and drank some coffee to wake us up, me, my siblings, and our friends went upstairs to play Super Smash Bros. Brawl. First of all, I love that game. Second, I’m actually pretty good at it. I’m usually not the greatest video game player so I’m surprised. It’s probably from the years I’ve been playing with my friends. In case you’re wondering, which you probably aren’t, I use Zelda, Wolf, or Ike…

I’m also ridiculously competitive so I tend to start yelling and screaming about everything (not in an angry way though). I just make a lot of noise, similar to when I watch basketball. If you’re fighting with someone and you both have one life left and over 200% damage, wouldn’t you be anxious too? I don’t get angry, but I do scream when I lose… which I did… to my brother… as usual.

So that was my Saturday; how was yours?

On a side note, I started playing Quiz Up, a game on the iPhone and Android, and it’s so much fun. I kept challenging the people who were in the same room as me. Try it out if you like trivia!

I guess that’s all for right now. I hope the rest of your holiday goes well!

Talk to me!

