Tea Time: Penny for your thoughts

Thanks for meeting me at my house at such short notice. I didn’t really feel like going outside. I’ve been quite weary these days so I’ve been staying home most of the time. Well, what’s new? I actually wasn’t sure if I was going to invite you today; I haven’t felt like talking to anyone either. But I guess I could always talk to you.

Go ahead. Pour yourself some tea. Go grab a danish or something. I think we still have some in the pantry.

Last night I watched Schindler’s List after wanting to do so for so long. It was quite long but I actually really liked it. It was a difficult film to watch, not because it’s boring or anything; it was just heartbreaking. It was such a touching movie that I cried at the end. Then I cried for a little while afterwards thinking about how humans are capable of such things. Have you watched that movie? Well then I highly recommend it. I love everything that has to do with WWII.

Remember how I told you the other day that I would stay away from social media sites for a while? Well, it’s only been about two or three days and I feel a lot better. My anxiety has just dropped. The thought of social interaction still gives me a panic attack, but I feel good for the time being. See, whenever I’m on some kind of social media platform I’m absolutely terrified that someone will send me a message. I’m even scared of getting notifications from my phone. Oh don’t worry; a message from you doesn’t freak me out.

A little while back, when my anxiety wasn’t taking over my life, I was speaking to a Ukrainian friend of mine, attempting to help him with English. And I remembered just how difficult the language really is. I had to learn when I was seven but I’ve been here for thirteen years already. Now that I think about it, it’s rare that I hear someone speaking “proper” English. I don’t speak completely proper English, as you can probably tell, but I am one of those people who don’t like using a lot of slang despite being only twenty. Language evolves, of course, but I’m sure Shakespeare would turn in his grave if he heard how most people speak these days.

Let’s see… Anything else interesting happening in my life?

I went to the bookstore and bought a few books, pictured above, and I just can’t wait to read them. I begun Master and Margarita at the store and I absolutely love it. It can be a little heavy to read at some points but quite interesting. After I read it, I might start reading a Dostoevsky book. What about you? Are you reading anything these days? You should give me some recommendations. I like a little variety.

I guess that’s really it for me for now. My life is quite mundane, which is more than alright with me. How about you? I’m sure you’ve been up to some shenanigans.

Talk to me!

