Just a bit of Motivation

Maybe you failed a test, or got passed up for your dream job, or have an outstanding balance in your bank account. When we experience some kind of drawback it’s easy to view it as a failure rather than a learning experience. If we in someway fall short of a certain expectation, we just continuously berate ourselves for it more than anything else.

I know that’s not everyone; but it definitely is me.

And so I wanted to take the time to motivate myself and others, especially during those days when we’re stuck in some kind of rut. Those are the days when I sit on the couch all day watching Friends and The Golden Girls. Hope and motivation becomes virtually non existent to me and I suddenly feel like I’m going nowhere in life. As cheesy as this sounds, that’s the exact attitude that will keep me from being able to do anything. But when I fall into a rut, it seems almost impossible to get out of it especially since I tend to fall into a depression.

It’s not easy to regain motivation once it’s buried deep underneath piles of self-pity but as any motivational speaker would say… it’s possible. You just have to do something, or even just get excited to do something. That’s really all it is for me. I have to get up, take a shower, and simply do something. It’s simple, yet effective.

Don’t think about what happened yesterday or last week, think about today. The past has already happened and there’s absolutely nothing you can do about it besides change your perspective on it. Think about what you could have changed but don’t dwell on the wrongs; focus on everything you did right because that’s where the motivation comes in.

Whatever it is you’re trying to achieve will be difficult and there’s not a doubt in the world that you’re going to fall down at least once. Hell, you’re most likely going to fall dozens of times. It’s inevitable. I can tell you all about some of the most successful people in the world and about how many times they had to try and try again, but I’m sure you’ve heard it all before.

For just a moment forget about how much work you have to put into your dream and think about where all that hard work will get you. Now… let the motivation flow.

2 thoughts on “Just a bit of Motivation

  1. I like this post, great job 🙂 We need to remember to stay motivated and look on the ‘bright side’ of things.

Talk to me!

