Socially Exhausted

I can be pretty outgoing a lot of the time but I’m still an introvert, which means that I can’t constantly be around people. It’s not that I get irritated by being around my friends or family; it’s just that I need a lot more time to recharge after social interaction than others. At the same time, I can only contain my social anxiety for so long before it all just bursts.

With that said, after this long week of constant social interaction I’m absolutely exhausted. I feel like I haven’t been able to get away from everything long enough to be alone with my own thoughts, which is something I actually love doing.

Don’t get me wrong; you can tell from the photos that I had a lot of fun but I’m so glad that now I get the chance to just sit in my room, listen to music, read, and relax. The last time I actually left the house to do something with other people was Monday. Okay, I just went to the post office but those employees are quite unpleasant and a two minute conversation with them makes me want to hit something or cry… or both…

But even when I don’t leave the house, I’m still overwhelmed with social media. That happens to me, and probably a lot of others, quite a lot. Instagram, Skype, Facebook… I actually think that’s all I have. Compared to others, and my seventeen-year-old self, that doesn’t seem too bad but it can still get a little too much for me. That instant message sound makes me jump sometimes, depending on the person.

So I realized that it’s one of those weeks where I have to stay away from all these social media sites for a little while and possibly even power down my phone. Well, I would but there might be some sort of emergency that requires my attention. I swear that’s the only reason… I don’t have a problem…

As I’ve mentioned numerous times in the past, it’s refreshing to unplug every once in a while and just enjoy the world around you.

I watched a video a few weeks ago that really inspired me and I hope you can take something from it. Reading the comment section makes me a little sad because it seems like a lot of people have missed the whole point of the video. To me it’s not saying that the advancement of technology is detrimental to us, but that it’s just nice to take the time to step away from all of that and just… look up from your screen.

We live in a society that can’t seem to function without technology. As a computer science major, I completely understand why we rely so much on computers, phones, tablets, and everything else. It’s amazing what you can do with them and it opens this whole new world for you… But when it comes to interacting with others, I still prefer to do it outside of my screen and in front of a cup of tea even if it makes me a little more anxious.

Enjoy!

If you do end up watching the video, tell me what you think.

4 thoughts on “Socially Exhausted

  1. Good post friend. Also such an important message in the video you shared. I feel that social (Actual) interaction is becoming sadly obsolete. People have forgotten or are forgetting how to interact face to face. I see at work people who practically share the same cubicle, yet communicate via email. This saddens me and also pisses me off a bit. I will actually go out of my way to respond to an email sometimes by visiting the person myself with my response when I can. So much more can be communicated through visual interaction. Thanks SO MUCH for this important peace. I hope you find the perfect balance of social interaction, and quiet time to yourself. Be well.

    1. Thank you! It really is quite sad that people would prefer to speak through an interface rather than just face-to-face. Even when I’m surrounded by my friends, at least half of them are on their phones and I think that’s what saddens me the most about the whole thing.

      Good day!

      – Deirdre

      1. Yeah I agree. I see the importance of the convenience to communicate, but feel it is far too often used as a crutch. Not to mention the whole addictive thing that has you’re friends and SO MANY others glued to their phones, tablets etc. 23 hours a day.

  2. I totally agree with you here. I have the same issues. I have to have my alone time or I go crazy. It’s true for all of us introverts I suspect. It’s the definition in fact – how you recharge is how you’re classified. If you do it by yourself you’re an introvert, if with others you’re an extrovert. It’s not quite that black and white I know but it’s real and it sure makes a difference when we give ourselves that much needed space to recharge in our own unique ways. Good luck to you. You sound like you have it under control and know what you need to do to take good care of yourself!
    Cheers,
    Steve

Talk to me!

