We should hang out some time

That’s probably one of the most used phrases when it comes to encountering an old friend or acquaintance. I’m guilty of saying it to a point where it basically becomes meaningless, but I’m sure I’m not the only one because it’s been said to me multiple times.

I think it’s just become a courtesy these days, as if you’re both fully aware that you’re probably never going to see or speak to the other ever again.

“Hey, I haven’t seen you in a while. How are things going with you?”

“Pretty good, nothing too interesting. How about you?”

“Pretty good too… Listen, I have to go but it was nice talking to you.”

“Yeah, you too. We should hang out sometime and catch up.”

“Sure.”

“I’ll text you.”

That’s how the typical “I haven’t seen you in a while” conversation goes for me. Well, sometimes I’ll simply end it at “yeah, you too.” If the other person is the one that says the somewhat inevitable “we should hang out sometime” and that he or she will contact me in the near future, then I feel like I’m off the hook. It’s the other person that carries the burden of deciding the future of this… relationship for lack of a better word.

Sometimes it just slips out of my mouth and, if I actually do mean it, I spend an unnecessary amount of time trying to find out if the other person actually wants me to reach out. As you may or may not know, my social anxiety gets pretty bad sometimes. I would actually love to catch up with some people but I get anxious just thinking about being alone with another person that I know but don’t quite know.

I’m a bit of an acquired taste. I think I’m actually a pretty great person in general but I don’t make the best first impressions and I feel like I can be a little annoying, which, believe it or not, I’m actually okay with. I’m aware that my constant sarcasm and “did you know”s can be irritating but that’s really a whole different story. My therapist can tell you more about it.

As you can see, I’m completely clueless when it comes to some social situations.

I mean… wouldn’t it be a lot easier to just tell the person that you really have no interest in seeing or speaking to him or her in the future?

Yes, yes it would be.

But who knows? Maybe this person and I have evolved (not the Pokemon way… I think) into two people who can actually get along and speak more than once every two years.

2 thoughts on “We should hang out some time

  1. hahaa! I’m cracking up! I’m guilty of the same thing. I especially hate when they ask for your number and bring out their phone to save it. It’s terrible that I actually want to tell them a wrong number to input, just so that I won’t have to talk to them if they ever decide to call. Thanks for sharing this post! I’m your newest follower. I’d love for you to stop by my site when you get the chance. http://www.tairaxo.com I look forward to your visit.

    1. I have the urge to do that too! Most of the time people just ask if I have the same number though… which I do.

      Thanks for your comment! I’ll make sure to check out your site soon!

      – Deirdre

Talk to me!

