You are stronger than you think

A letter to anyone struggling with their mental health. 

Dear Stranger,

I know you’re suffering, and you may be at the point where you feel like no one in the world would care if you just disappeared. But believe me when I say that you are never alone. Even if you feel like those around you won’t listen or can’t relate to what you’re going through, there are so many others who can. I know that you feel like everyone is against you, that nothing will ever get better but I promise you that it will.

Don’t ever give up because you’re a lot stronger than you think you are. The fact that you’re still fighting whatever it is you’re going through should make you proud of yourself. The more you fight your demons, the stronger you’ll become. Every day is a battle, a struggle to survive, and sometimes you stumble but don’t let it get to you. Tomorrow will be a new day.

Just know that you don’t have to fight these battles on your own. Like I said earlier, there are people out there who are willing to help. All you have to do is give them the chance to. It’s easier to close yourself off from the world, because what has other people given you besides grief and pain? I know that feeling all too well. For years I hid myself from even my closest friends, refusing to let them in. I would silently cry out for help but how could anyone help me if I pushed away all of their efforts to do so?

I used to think that accepting any kind of help would make me weak and it took me a while to realize that it’s actually the exact opposite. It takes a lot of courage to admit that you need someone. It involves swallowing whatever pride you have left and breaking down the barriers you spent so much time creating. Yes, it’s extremely difficult. You have to dig deep inside yourself and talk about things you’ve tried so hard to forget.

There will be a time in the midst of it all when you’ll want to quit, but just push through it. Remember that little saying, “after the storm comes a rainbow”? Well, as cheesy as it sounds it’s true. All you have to do is keep fighting because you have the strength to.

And you know what? Forget everyone who puts you down. There are a lot of people out there who don’t understand how difficult it is to have a mental illness and will immediately jump to conclusions about you. There’s a lot of stigma going around out there and you’ll no doubt encounter someone who will make you feel this way. Those are the people that don’t matter, that you don’t need in your life. You don’t need anyone telling you who you are and making you feel like you’re less than everyone else. You’re not.

Don’t forget to laugh. You lose that laughter when you’re struggling but it’s in you somewhere. But it’s so important to find reasons to just laugh out loud. What really helped me get through situations is finding some kind of comic relief in them. Well, some of them. Laughter is the best medicine, right? Whether it’s a movie or a song or some YouTube video, there has to be something that always makes you smile.

I’m going to leave you with this final thought: when it comes down to it, recovery starts with you. How can others help you if you’re not even trying to help yourself?

So I challenge you to believe in yourself, to believe that you’re so much more than what you think you are, because there are people out there who truly believe in you. believe in you and, if you want, I’ll be with you on your journey.

With love,

Deirdre

14 thoughts on “You are stronger than you think

  1. Reblogged this on Black Roses in Life and commented:
    This really helps me. As someone struggling every day to choose to stay in this world. This letter lets me know that I’m not alone and perhaps it will actually better. It’s telling me the things my mind won’t allow me to tell myself.

  2. Hi Deidre, Yes, most people don’t understand that mental illness is no different than any other illness. But it IS treatable and manageable. Keep at it and don’t give up. Mental illness is not fatal as we think of other diseases. to be. Gob bless.

  3. I am unemployed. Where can I really go for any help? The county health department is worthless and so am I.

    1. Hi Wanda. I’m so sorry to hear that but please don’t ever think that you’re worthless. I will agree on the country’s health department being so (if you’re speaking of the US). Do you have someone you can speak to?

Talk to me!

