Get On Up

Song of the Day: She’s a Bad Mama Jama by Carl Carlton

I went to watch The Commodores and Kool & The Gang the other day so I’ve been feeling the funk music. That was probably one of the most exciting concerts I’ve been to in my entire twenty-one years of life… But that’s really not the point to all of this.

We all have those days – or weeks or months or maybe even years – when it seems like no matter what we do we just can’t win. It’s gone from bad to worse to… whatever is after that. It’s all a part of this wonderful thing we call life. I admit to still being a child so I haven’t fully experienced everything that life can and will throw at me, but hey. I still have some experience of being screwed over by life, for lack of a better phrase.

I would love to reminisce about my 2012-2013 but, um, I really don’t want to.

See, our lives are written in pen. Don’t you dare get all smart with me and say there are pens out there with erasers. I’m fully aware of that and they’re all just irrelevant. Besides those erasers hardly ever work and you end up smudging the ink or erasing a gaping hole in your lovely 8.5 x 11 in, college-ruled paper. I have a thing for office supplies…

Ahem.

The book of our lives are written in pen and there’s no way you can get rid of it. Sure you can rip out the pages and toss them in the trash in an attempt to forget but you know in your heart it’s still there. All you can really do is accept what’s happened and find some kind of way to keep going.

Here’s a quote that I live by:

“Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!”
Sylvester Stallone, Rocky Balboa

If you haven’t watched that movie, I suggest you do because it’s one of my favorites in the series. If you want to watch the movie and don’t want the ending spoiled, I would avoid this paragraph. I warned you… This is the sixth installment to the series and by now Rocky is long retired. But he agrees to return for a final fight against an undefeated champion, Mason. The fight is intense, with the young boxer dominating in the opening but with Rocky making a comeback. In the end, Rocky loses the fight but in a way wins because he managed to prove to himself as well as millions of others that he can “go the distance.”

The message is familiar but important: it’s not about how many times you fall, but how many times you get back up.

My blog has this consistent theme of “never giving up” but I feel like it’s a concept that can be easily forgotten. I guess I just want to drill that into as many brains as I can until it becomes an instinct to get back up and keep fighting.

So keep writing your book and don’t be afraid to start a new chapter.

One thought on “Get On Up

Talk to me!

