Inductions, Pubs, and Nessie

I’m completely joking. I haven’t had the chance to go to the Highlands and look for the Loch Ness Monster… I’m actually quite curious who truly believes there’s a monster under there. As for me, I spent some time reading about the loch and I came to the conclusion that there could be something there. I’m not saying it’s a “monster” of some sort depending on what your definition of monster is but I actually think there could be an aquatic being living in the loch. Maybe it’s just a really large, mutated fish or something. I don’t think it’s a plesiosaur like some people do though.

On a side note, do not Wikipedia “cryptids”. You’ll be on the site for hours.

For the past few nights since I moved into my flat, I’ve been trying to go out and explore the city with my flatmates. Surprisingly, I can probably make my way around the area somewhat. However, there are different levels to the street so you could end up in the upper or lower level without even realizing it. I found that out two days ago. But there’s been some interesting discoveries.

On Saturday, half of my flat went to some party while the other half of us decided to just hang out at a pub. It was a traditional Scottish pub and it was pretty nice. Since I just turned twenty-one a little while ago and that’s the drinking age in the US, I never had the chance to go to a bar, not that I drink much anyway. In the pub, the atmosphere was quite nice. It was really relaxed and it seemed like everyone was quite conscious of their alcohol consumption.

That’s another thing. The drinking culture is so different. In the US, since the drinking age is so high and restricted everyone seems to want to go insane everytime there’s alcohol around. But around here, it’s kind of a norm so it’s not a completely huge deal to drink at a young age. Maybe I’m wrong. I just managed to see crowds coming from parties and they were nowhere near as rowdy as they were when I was in Berkeley.

Anyway, we went to another pub called “Greyfriars Bobby”. Apparently that’s the name of a dog who waited fourteen years for his master. I love that. It was nice there too and afterwards my Scottish flatmates had us try “chips and brown sauce” and “Irn Bru”. You can just search those up if you’re curious. I really liked the chips – ahem, fries for us Americans – but that Irn Bru drink was absolutely disgusting. It was like drinking sugar. When I checked, it was 30% sugar.

Let’s see… yesterday I went to the induction meeting for my major. It was two hours long and you can imagine how terrible that was for someone with the attention span of a knat. Actually, they may have pretty good attention spans. I don’t know how they live their lives. Luckily the lectures are only about fifty minutes. That’s gold for me.

Then I went to the International Student Centre for free coffee and tea, and to meet others. It was so great! I was pretty anxious about going because, well, you know. There’s my whole social anxiety thing and I was actually kind of by myself. But I managed to meet people who were just like me; they don’t like to party but simply to have nice, relaxing nights. We all even started singing to the 80’s songs that were playing and planned to find a nice sushi place.

You know… I’m pretty proud of myself right now. I’ve been going out and being social, trying to get people’s contact information and I haven’t been cooped up in my room watching Netfilx. By the way, they do not have a lot of my US shows but that’s probably for the best.

Right now I’m actually writing another post about introverts but I just wanted to update… on my life across the pond. The Atlantic Ocean is not a pond.

I hope all is well and have an awesome week!

Also, the picture is of St. Giles’ Cathedral. It’s absolutely gorgeous inside and out.

5 thoughts on “Inductions, Pubs, and Nessie

  1. This makes me miss my time studying in Europe. I visited that exact same church when I was in Edinburgh and they were having a wedding session, it was so lovely! Wish we had places like that where I stay. >->
    I had a vice when I was a student at the Uni of Sheffield… Iron Bru. It was the Olympics in 2012 and we were visiting one o my flatmate’s uncles in Prestwick, Scotland and he brought this orangey-drink which tasted, as you said, like sugar. But man, we were so addicted we drank that so much the rest of the time we were there.
    Hope you enjoy ur time in Edinburgh! I loved it during my visit there. 🙂

    1. Haha I cannot drink more than a sip of Irn Bru. But yes, I’m having a great time here. I absolutely love it! It feels a lot more homey. But also I’ve only been here for a week. I’ll see how I feel in about a month. Haha

  2. Hiya Deirdre! 🙂

    Welcome to the UK, well, one piece of the UK ’till maybe the 18th of September! 😉

    I’m surprised you say they’re not as rowdy as they are in the UK! The Scots are well known for drinking a lot, all the Scots I know are drinkers! lol. Having said that the rest of the UK are the same, the end of the night on a weekend in any UK city centre is full of rowdy drunks.

    Iron-Bru, yeah… it sucks! I’ve never liked it from being a little kid! You don’t need it. Oh, not sure you’ve seen it yet but Doner Kebabs are a favourite of drinkers after a session, be careful not to get one, you may get addicted to them! lol

    I think you are right being proud of yourself! All you’ve been through and your social anxiety, you did really good! I’m going to a friend’s birthday party myself in October and will be around with people I don’t know, like you I’m a little apprehensive at the thought of it but it’s something we have to push past to make headway.

    But again, go you! *Pats Deirdre on the back (not condescendingly)* 🙂

    Hopefully I can catch your introvert post, with me being one of them, but I may be late replying as I have to do a resit next week as I failed my last exam (anxiety and depression caused it), so I’m revising like mad! 😛

    All the best, Mate! 🙂

    – Phil

    1. Hello!

      Thanks, mate! I’ve been called “mate”, “love”, “darlin”, and “dear” sooooo many times in the past week and a half I’ve been here. haha. But it’s all good. I was warned of it before.

      Maybe it’s just the older Scottish people that drink a lot? I mean, all of the ones I’ve met are more or less my age. I’ve seen some really rowdy Americans, probably because our drinking age is 21 and they’re not used to it. haha. They’re making us all look bad!

      I have to ask. Do you understand people from Glasgow? hahaha. The accent is so difficult for me to comprehend and I always (always!) have to ask the person to repeat what he/she is saying at least three times. I’ve spoken to some of my Scottish friends, ones who lived closer to England, and they admit that it’s pretty difficult to understand too.

      I hope all is well and that you’ll have adequate some time to prepare for your friend’s party!

      – Deirdre

      1. Hiya Deirdre!

        Yeah, the British are fond of their terms of endearment! Using that many terms of endearment in the USA would make people think you’re coming on to them! Which is why I’m careful using some words on here with people. I was wondering if you’ve been called ‘Hen’ yet? Some Scots use that a lot, though I think it might be the older generations. In the North West of England some older people use the word ‘Cock’ (as in Chicken) as a term of endearment. It’s so funny especially when my Mam uses it! lol

        I can guarantee you, Deirdre, the British are just as rowdy, you just haven’t seen them yet! lol I’m not sure what the pub/club scene is like where you are in Scotland, but any British major city has a city centre and every weekend it’s full to bursting with rowdy people. I’m not that big a drinker and don’t drink much, but still I’d rather stay away from the city centre on weekend nights.

        Yeah, I understand people from Glasgow, I have a friend from Glasgow! Though to be fair he hasn’t lived there for years so his accent isn’t as strong anymore. But yes, I can generally understand them as we had a few Scots and Irish folk who lived on our estate when I was growing up so I’m used to the accents and some of the slang. You’ll get used to it! 🙂

        I should be OK for my mate’s party, thanks for the kind word! 🙂

        Hope all is going well with study and you’re enjoying yourself!

        – Phil

Talk to me!

