Tea Time: London, Exams, and the Future

Hello, hello! Come in. Sit.

Tea? Coffee? It feels like a coffee night for me, though I’ve probably had enough.

Sorry I haven’t invited you over in a while. It’s been a crazy few weeks and I’ve been so busy.

How have you been lately?

I actually just got back from London yesterday afternoon. I think I’ve mentioned that I suddenly decided to go with one of my flatmates. I was only there for about a day but I managed to see Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Tower, Buckingham Palace, Harrod’s, the London Eye, and… other stuff. It was quite fun and I was completely exhausted. We also met up with one of her friends and went into a pub, where I noticed quite possibly the most civil pub fight I’ve ever seen. It ended in a “Sorry, mate. I was out of line.”

I could keep going into great detail but I won’t bore you with all of that. I’ll just say that London is extremely crowded. Maybe it’s because it was a Saturday or maybe that’s just how it always is. Have you ever been? Is it always like that?

Well, I still prefer Edinburgh… where everyone is much nicer. I feel a bit bad for saying that but it is what it is.

Anyway, I have quite a few exams this term. Okay, I really don’t. I only have three and I took one today. It was Computation and Logic. Doesn’t that sound fun?! It actually wasn’t too bad and I think I at least passed. Next is Linear Algebra on Wednesday. That’s why there’s all these notes everywhere. Sorry about that. I’ll clean it… after all my exams… or something.

I was spending a bit of time revamping my CV, which is mediocre at best, and so I contacted an old friend of mine for help since he’s pretty great at those kinds of things. This is the time to be applying for summer internships and I really want to do one, though it’s difficult for first years since most want at least second years. Nevertheless, if I can’t get an internship I could always study German in Germany.

I’m actually pretty optimistic about my future.

I think I’ve been pretty optimistic in general.

I feel… happy. Isn’t that great? I don’t think I’ve felt this way in a while and so it’s a strange feeling. But a good kind of strange. And I don’t think it’s overly happy, you know?

Maybe it’s because I’ve been more open lately. I haven’t been too scared to talk to people. I went to a hackathon last weekend and I made quite a bit of new friends. On a side note, I should stop saying “quite”. But, yes, I broke out of my comfort zone and went on that two-day trip. I must tell you about the hackathon eventually. Yes, that is actually as geeky as it sounds. I study computer science. It’s inevitable.

I’ve also been more open about my bipolar disorder. I usually have to explain why I’m a twenty-one year old first year and sometimes people ask about it. And I just say it. It’s like I’m not too ashamed of it as I was before. It’s kind of a relief not to hide it.

Yes, I’m quite proud of myself too. Thank you.

Oh, Jesus, it’s getting so late! I’m sorry to rush, but I’ll tell you more soon.

8 thoughts on “Tea Time: London, Exams, and the Future

  1. Love the honesty about the difference between London and Edinburgh. Though I’ve never been to either, I have heard the same. It was nice to read your thoughts! Take care and good luck –

    1. Thank you! I recommend visiting both since they’re completely different from each other, though that seems pretty obvious.

      Everyone in London seems to be in a rush all the time, similar to New York City if you’ve been there and most people in Edinburgh are more keen to converse with you.

      I hope you get to visit either someday! 🙂

  2. This sounds silly, but I really love reading your posts. It feels like I’m catching up with an old friend, even though I don’t know you. I’ve started trying to be more open with my friends about my personal life too. It’s difficult at first, but I’ve found those who are the best of friends will just listen without judgement. Good luck with your exams! I have my politics final tomorrow >_<

  3. London…the tube… was scary, the walls moved inches away from the train, and it felt claustrophobic. Heathrow was busy. The other airport – Stanstead – seemed a bit better. But Fife, near Edinburgh, was very pleasant. Stayed there a day with a good friend and his partner…hiked up a hill, talked with complete strangers…Scotland’s beautiful. Long para short, your impressions were right on.

    It is good to read your posts…you must write more, books perhaps. I think you do have it in you, bipolar, comp. sc. geek, or not…

    take care.

    1. Oh gosh, the tube… I was so confused when I first went to a station. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced public transportation with zones before. And there was just way too many people in there. I flew into Stanstead and it wasn’t too impressive. I just hate that they don’t announce the gate until about thirty minutes or so before boarding!

      I was actually afraid I’d offend someone with what I said about London! haha…

      And THANK YOU. It just always makes me feel so great to hear that someone likes to read my little musings.

      Cheers!

Talk to me!

