Here’s to the New Year

This is going to be my year. I can just feel it.

I know everyone says that every single year but… well, it just will be, okay?

2014 was a huge year for me, a turning point in my life. You know how in movies there comes a moment when the protagonist takes charge of his or her own life in order to better it? That’s what that entire year was for me.

I spent so much of my life trying to change my situation that I didn’t realize until the middle of last year that I had absolutely no control over it. The only thing I had control over was my perspective.

So that became my main goal for 2014: acceptance.

Okay so I haven’t completely accepted everything, but it’s one of my neverending goals.

After much thought I found that the theme for my 2015 will be courage. Don’t roll your eyes at me; I know it’s cheesy! But what’s life without some cheese? Cheeseburgers would just be burgers and mac n’ cheese would just be… mac… the “aroni” kind and not the “intosh” kind.

I feel like courage is something I’ve always lacked, and I’m not really quite sure why. Wow, I just broke the most important rules of writing right there and it made me cringe a little.

I’ve always been too scared to get out of my comfort zone, you know? We have our comfort zones for a good reason. It’s the one place in the world where we feel safe; at least that’s the case for me. But at the same time it holds us back a little. We get too comfortable; so much so that anything and everything else feels foreign.

Even if we feel pain in in that supposed safe place, it’s a familiar kind of pain. It’s the kind of pain we know how to deal with.

During the final few weeks of the year, I managed to take a few steps out of that comfort zone and… it was okay.

It really was.

In fact it was refreshing.

And so that’s what I want to continue pursuing this year.

Should I call this a new chapter or a new book?

I guess we’ll all see how our year unfolds.

2 thoughts on “Here’s to the New Year

Talk to me!

