Tea Time: Scotland, Layovers, and the Flu

Hello, dear friend! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? How was your Christmas? And New Year? We have so much to catch up on.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time away from Edinburgh. Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely love it here. But I’ve been anticipating seeing my family again. I was also quite excited about all the food that I’ve been dying to eat. As you know, I’m not the best cook in the world.

I had to split my time between San Diego and LA because I wanted to see both of my parents. The prior has all of my friends and so it was great seeing them all again. They’re the kinds of friends that I can stop talking to for months – maybe years! – and still converse like nothing had ever happened. You know what I mean, right?

It was more difficult leaving this time around, especially for my three-year-old sister. When I was leaving the car, she kissed my parents good-bye, thinking she was coming with me. It absolutely broke my heart. My mom told me she couldn’t stop crying as she watched me walk towards the airport terminal and kept saying that she wanted to go to Scotland with me.

My flights? Well, they were alright. I had my first layover in Chicago, where it was -13F! I walked outside as I was getting off the plane and my tears froze. Okay, I’m being overly dramatic. But it was absolutely freezing and because of that, my flight was delayed about two hours.

Next was London Heathrow… where I waited roughly 11 hours. At least I found a spot to charge my phone and take a nap. I kind of just crawled into a ball and went to sleep because my head was pounding from the impending flu.

Oh yeah, I didn’t tell you. I caught the flu from my sister.

How wonderful, right?

And then I woke up at 6AM with a terrible fever. It’s passed… mostly. It didn’t help that it was snowing outside and I had to get out of my flat to trek to the grocery store and grab some food for the week. I’m hoping I’ll get better by Monday, when classes begin again.

Speaking of which, I haven’t even looked at my schedule…

It was vacation, okay! I can’t be productive! You can’t tell me you did any sort of work during your time off.

Oh… well. You’re just so cool aren’t you?

Anyway, I just have to say that I’m not ready to start school yet. Not to be pessimistic, but I’m scared that I’ll have some kind of mental breakdown this semester. The dormant mania that I have sometimes manifests as ambition. That doesn’t sound like a bad thing but I become overly ambitious, taking on all these different things that I realize I can’t do. Remember fall semester 2012? I try not to…

At the same time, I hate admitting that I can’t do something. Yes, I’m one of those people. You should know this by now!

However, I see my therapist on Tuesday and my new psychiatrist next Monday. We’ll see what happens then.

As I said, this is my year. 

Will it be yours too?

Talk to me!

